FAQ
Frequently September 2024
Asked
Questions
This document deals with questions regarding how specific rules work or interact. For corrections or changes to
rules, please consult the Errata document.
Bolt Action: Third Edition Rulebook
Do unarmed models fight in close quarters or not? Can units that do not have spotters in their unit
Yes, they do. See the Errata document for an amendment entry (like light mortars) benefit from the line of sight
removing a rule that previously stated that some unarmed of spotters?
models would not fight in close quarters. Yes, they can, provided they are Regular or Veteran. This
also applies to vehicles and any other unit that fires Indirect
What happens to units in a transport that is destroyed Fire weapons, unless their rules specify otherwise.
because it retreats from the table, or one that fails to come in
from Reserves? Can the last operator of an artillery piece be removed to take
Transported/towed units are destroyed together with over another?
the vehicle. Yes, the last operator can leave a gun, which counts as
destroyed (i.e. remove its order die). This is the opposite of
The Key Positions victory condition indicates D3+4 objective re-crewing a gun without crew!
markers are placed on the table within 12" of each other
and 6" from the table edges. What happens if it becomes Can members of artillery pieces be transferred to other
impossible to place all objectives on the table? pieces even if they have different levels of experience? What
Any objectives that cannot be placed are simply not placed happens to any pins they may have?
and the game continues with fewer objectives. Yes, and they become the same rating as the existing crew, or
retain their original rating if there is no crew to join and they
If a transport or tow vehicle mounts a weapon and are taking over a crewless gun. When a crew moves from one
therefore ‘loses all transport capacity’, does it mean it also gun to another, they discard any previous pins and instead
loses towing capability? have the same pins as the crew they join, as they become part
of that unit. If they are re-crewing an abandoned gun, they
Yes. simply retain any pins they currently have.
If you upgrade the Stummel to the 251/9 with transport Can a tank with Slow Load rule act first on the turn if
capacity, can you then put it in the transport slot for a Recce activated by an officer’s Snap to Action ability?
Platoon and give it Recce?
Yes, because the officer is given the order before the vehicle
No - that vehicle entry is an SPG, not a transport, with Slow Load.
regardless of whether you give it the optional transport
capacity or not.
A tow is destroyed along with all the crew of the towed
artillery as well. Is the artillery piece left or removed along
Does an indirect fire unit that is ranged in on an artillery with its die?
unit retain its ranging when the target artillery crew is
killed? If the gun is recrewed, as per the artillery rules, Treat this as a gun that has no crew left - leave it there, and it
does the ranged in unit get to stay ranged in on the freshly can be re-crewed.
recrewed gun/new unit?
The indirect weapon firing on the artillery is still ranged How many Indirect Fire units can a spotter or forward
in, as it ranges in on the position of the gun, not that of observer spot for per turn? Can a Forward Observer spot and
the crew. perform their own Fire order in the same turn?
They can spot for any number of units. Yes, they can act
normally and still spot, as spotting is not an action, but
rather a passive ability that is ‘always on’.
®
1–
Permission to print for personal use only. © 2024 Warlord Games Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Warlord Games, the Warlord Games logo, Warlord Resin,
FAQ (Sep 2024) Warlord Resin Plus, Bolt Action and the Bolt Action logo are either ® or ™, and/or © Warlord Games Limited, variably registered around the world.