0% found this document useful (0 votes)
91 views17 pages

Eng Jun25 Whtow Rulebook Faq-2ywgjptmtu-J6xlvz5xm9

The document is an FAQ and errata for the Warhammer: The Old World rulebook, detailing amendments and clarifications to the game's rules. It includes specific changes to various rules, such as combat results, spell casting, and unit interactions, with updates highlighted for clarity. The document is regularly revised, and players are encouraged to refer to the latest version for accurate gameplay information.

Uploaded by

argswieso
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
91 views17 pages

Eng Jun25 Whtow Rulebook Faq-2ywgjptmtu-J6xlvz5xm9

The document is an FAQ and errata for the Warhammer: The Old World rulebook, detailing amendments and clarifications to the game's rules. It includes specific changes to various rules, such as combat results, spell casting, and unit interactions, with updates highlighted for clarity. The document is regularly revised, and players are encouraged to refer to the latest version for accurate gameplay information.

Uploaded by

argswieso
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 17

Warhammer: The Old World

FAQ & Errata – Version 1.5.1


This document collects amendments to the rules contained within the Warhammer: the Old World rulebook and presents our
responses to players’ frequently asked questions. As this document is revised regularly, it has a version number; where a version
number has a letter, e.g. 1.1a, this means it has had a local amendment, only in one language, to clarify a translation issue. When
this document is revised in full, the version number will be incremented.

Errata
Below you will find errata to the Warhammer: the Old World rulebook and its associated Arcane Journals. When this document
is revised, updated entries will be highlighted in [blue], while entirely new additions will be highlighted in [magenta].

Designers’ Note: Errata marked with an asterisk (*) have been corrected in a later printing of the publication and may not apply.

Page 101 Page 110


Combat Result Bonus: Change the entry as follows: Wizardly Dispel: Change the second paragraph, after the
‘Whilst in Combat Order, a Close Order formation with a bullet points, as follows:
Unit Strength of 10 or more may claim a bonus of +1 combat ‘Wizards that are fleeing or that are not on the battlefield
result point (see page 151).’ cannot be nominated. Wizards that are engaged in combat
can only be nominated to dispel spells that target them or
Page 107 their unit.’
Magical Vortex: Change the second paragraph as follows:
‘Some Magical Vortexes move at the start of each turn, often Dispel Roll & Dispel Result: Change the first sentence of the
by scattering. Should a Magical Vortex end such a move over a second paragraph as follows:
unit, move it by the smallest amount possible, in any direction, ‘If you are attempting a Wizardly dispel, the Dispel roll is
so that it can be placed on the battlefield, not touching the modified by adding the Wizard’s Level of Wizardry divided by
bases of any models.’ 2 (rounding fractions up) to give a ‘dispel result’.’’

Page 108 Page 111


Casting Spells: Change the first sentence of the second Dispelling Remains in Play Spells: Change the second
paragraph, after the bullet points, as follows: sentence of the first paragraph as follows:
‘A Wizard can attempt to cast a number of spells equal to their ‘To do so, you may attempt either a Fated dispel or a Wizardly
Level of Wizardry per turn, but may only attempt to cast each dispel (provided the Wizard making the attempt is within
spell once per turn.’ Dispel range of the Wizard that cast the spell or, in the case of
a Magical Vortex, within range of the template representing
Casting Roll, Casting Result & Casting Value: Change the the spell).’
second paragraph as follows:
‘The casting Wizard’s Level of Wizardry is then divided by 2 Page 141
(rounding fractions up) and added to this roll to give a ‘casting Ward Saves: Change the entry as follows:
result’. For example, if a Level 2 Wizard makes a Casting roll ‘Representing magical protection of some sort, Ward saves
of 1 and 6, the total casting result would be 8 (1 + 6 = 7 for the are made in the same manner as armour saves; by rolling a D6
Casting roll, plus 1 for the Level of Wizardry divided by 2).’ and comparing the result to the ‘Warding value’. A Ward save’s
Warding value is always given in either the description of the
Page 109 item or spell that grants it, or shown after the name of a special
8-9, Barely Controlled Power: Change the last sentence rule. Rules that affect armour values do not affect Warding
as follows: values unless stated otherwise.’
‘However, the Wizard cannot attempt to cast any more spells
for the remainder of the current turn.’

1
Permission to download/print for personal use only. © Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2025.
Page 145 Page 170
The Fighting Rank: Change the entry as follows: Fly (X): Change the first paragraph of the rule as follows:
‘When two opposing units are engaged in combat, any row ‘Except when following up or pursuing, a model with this
of models (be it a rank or file) in which one or more is in base special rule can choose to move by flying through the air,
contact with the enemy is a ‘fighting rank’. Any model that is rather than moving across the ground as normal. When a
within a fighting rank and within a number of inches equal model flies it uses a special ‘Fly Movement’ characteristic,
to its Movement of the enemy unit can fight. This represents shown in brackets after the name of this special rule (shown
models closing in upon the foe.’ here as ‘X’). Models that choose to move by flying:’

Supporting Attacks: Change the entry as follows: Frenzy: Change the first paragraph of the rule as follows:
‘Models whose weapons allow them to make a ‘supporting ‘During a turn in which it made a charge move, or during the
attack’ can do so if they are in the rank or file directly behind turn after it made a follow up move, a Frenzied model has a
the fighting rank of their unit, and within a number of inches +1 modifier to its Attacks characteristic. However, a Frenzied
equal to their Movement of the enemy unit. However, rider does not confer this modifier to their mount, and
supporting attacks cannot be made to a unit’s flank or rear, or vice versa.’
by a model that is itself in a fighting rank.’
Page 172
Page 146 Impact Hits (X): Change the second sentence of ‘Resolving
Charging Units: Change the second sentence of the first Impact Hits’ as follows:
paragraph as follows: ‘Impact Hits are resolved against the charged unit when the
‘To represent this, models gain a modifier to their Initiative combat is chosen during Step 1.1 of the Choose Combat
characteristic during the Combat phase of a turn in which & Fight sub-phase, before issuing challenges. They hit
they charged (to a maximum of 10):’ automatically and use the unmodified Strength of the model
making them.’
Page 161
Heavy Casualties: Change the first paragraph as follows: Impetuous: Change the rule as follows:
‘If, during any single phase other than the Combat phase, ‘If during the Declare Charges & Charge Reactions sub-phase
a unit loses more than a quarter (25%) of the models it of its turn, a unit that includes one or more Impetuous models
contained at the start of that phase, it must make a Panic test.’ is able to declare a charge, it must make a Leadership test. If
this test is failed, the unit must declare a charge. If this test is
Page 167 passed, the unit may act as normal.’
Chariot Runners: Change the first sentence of the rule
as follows: Large Target: Change the rule as follows:
‘Friendly models whose troop type is ‘chariot’ can draw a line ‘Large Targets do not benefit from partial or full cover. In
of sight over or through models with this special rule and can addition, a unit can draw a line of sight to a Large Target over
move through friendly units if they are in Skirmish formation or through another unit, and vice versa, provided that unit is
and if the majority of models have this special rule.’ not also a Large Target. Finally, a unit that shoots at a Large
Target can shoot with one additional rank. For example, a
Page 168 unit armed with crossbows can shoot with its first two ranks
Evasive: Change the first sentence of the rule as follows: when shooting at a Large Target, or with its first three if also
‘Once per turn, when a unit in which the majority of the standing on a hill.’
models have this special rule is declared the target during
the enemy Shooting phase, that unit may choose to Fall Back Page 173
in Good Order, fleeing directly away from the enemy unit Monster Handlers: Change the third sentence of the second
shooting at it.’ paragraph of the rule as follows:
‘On a roll of 1-4 the monster loses a Wound, but on a roll of 5+
Page 169 one of the handlers is removed instead.’
Fire & Flee: Change the first paragraph of the rule as follows:
‘If the majority of the models in a unit armed with missile Page 175
weapons have this special rule, the unit may declare that it will Poisoned Attacks: Change the first sentence of the rule
‘Fire & Flee’ as a charge reaction:’ as follows:
‘For each roll To Hit of a natural 6 a model with Poisoned
Attacks makes, they may apply a +2 modifier to one of their
rolls To Wound.’

2
Permission to download/print for personal use only. © Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2025.
Page 176 Swiftstride: Change the rule as follows:
Random Movement: Change the third sentence of the first ‘A unit which consists entirely of models with this special rule
paragraph of the rule as follows: increases its maximum possible charge range by 3" and, before
‘When a model with this special rule moves, roll the dice to making a Charge, Flee or Pursuit roll, may choose to apply a
determine its maximum movement.’ +D6 modifier to the result.’

Regeneration (X+): Change the rule as follows: Page 180


‘Immediately after a Wound is lost, but before models with Vanguard: Add the following to the end of the
zero Wounds remaining are removed from play, a model with second paragraph:
this special rule may make a ‘Regeneration save’ roll by rolling ‘Units that make a Vanguard move cannot declare a charge
a D6 and comparing the result to its ‘Regeneration value’, during their first turn.’
shown in brackets after the name of this special rule (shown
here as ‘X+’). If the Regeneration save roll equals or exceeds Warband: Change the second sentence of the rule as follows:
the model’s Regeneration value, the lost Wound is recovered, ‘However, a Warband cannot use this modifier to its
but is still counted for the purposes of calculating the Leadership should it ever choose to make a Restraint test or, if
combat result. Rules that affect armour values do not affect it is Impetuous, when testing to see if it must declare a charge
Regeneration values unless stated otherwise.’ or may act as normal.’

Page 177 Page 183


Reserve Move: Change the first sentence of the rule Quick Turn: Change the entry as follows:
as follows: ‘Unless it marched, a unit that is in Open Order formation
‘Unless it charged, marched or fled during the Movement may pivot about its centre to change its facing by up to 90°
phase, a unit in which the majority of the models have this after moving during the Remaining Moves sub-phase.’
special rule may make a Reserve move at the end of the
Shooting phase of its turn, after all shooting has been resolved.’ Page 185
Skirmishers in Combat: Change the second paragraph
Stomp Attacks (X): Change the second sentence of ‘Resolving as follows:
Stomp Attacks’ as follows: ‘Skirmishers will maintain this close formation until the
‘Stomp Attacks are attacks made in combat that must be made combat is over (i.e., until they are not engaged with any enemy
last, after all other attacks have been made, including attacks at the end of a Combat phase), at which point the models must
made at Initiative 1. They hit automatically and use the separate, moving the smallest amount possible to once again
unmodified Strength of the model making them.’ adopt Skirmish formation.’

Page 178 Page 186


Stupidity: Change the first paragraph and the bullet points Skirmishers & Charging: Change the first sentence of the
as follows: first paragraph as follows:
‘Unless it is fleeing or engaged in combat, a unit with this ‘A unit of Skirmishers may charge an enemy unit that is
special rule must make a Stupidity test by testing against its visible to more than half (50%) of its models when charges
Leadership during the Start of Turn sub-phase of each of its are declared.’
turns. If this test is failed, the unit succumbs to Stupidity until
its next Start of Turn sub-phase. A unit that has succumbed Add the following to the end of the second paragraph:
to Stupidity: ‘If any Skirmishers are unable to form up, the unit is
considered to have lost its coherency, as described on page 184.’
• Cannot move.
• Cannot shoot or cast spells.
• Cannot attempt a Wizardly dispel.
• Must ‘Hold’ if charged by an enemy.’

3
Permission to download/print for personal use only. © Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2025.
Page 190 Page 211
Regular Infantry Rules: Change the entry as follows: Challenges & Mounts: Delete the second sentence, then add
‘Press of Battle: In the heat of battle, orderly ranks become the following note:
a swirling melee. Except during a turn in which it charged, ‘Note that, if either participant is slain before their rival or a mount
the fighting rank of a unit that has this rule and is arrayed in can make an attack, those attacks are lost.’
combat order is not one, but two ranks deep. In other words,
models that are directly behind and in base contact with Pages 212 & 214
models in the unit’s actual fighting rank are also considered to Flail: Change the weapon profile as follows:
be within its fighting rank.’
R S AP Special Rules
‘Massed Infantry: Numbers alone can sometimes overcome Flail Combat S+2 -2 Armour Bane (1),
the foe. When determining combat results, if one side has a Requires Two Hands
higher Unit Strength than the other and includes one or more Notes: A flail’s Strength modifier and Armour Bane (1) special
units with this rule, that side may claim a bonus of +1 combat rule apply only against enemy models the wielder charged this turn.
result point.’
Page 213
‘Parry: With sword and shield, warriors attempt to deflect More Than One Combat Weapon: Change the first bullet
enemy attacks. Whilst engaged in close combat, a model point as follows, then delete the fourth bullet point:
with this rule that is equipped with and chooses to use a • ‘If a unit that is engaged in combat is equipped with two or
hand weapon and shield improves its armour value by 1, to a more combat weapons, you must choose which weapon it
maximum of 3+.’ will fight with when its combat is chosen during Step 1.1 of
each and every Choose & Fight Combat sub-phase.’
Heavy Infantry Rules: Add the following:
‘Press of Battle: See Regular Infantry entry, above.’ Page 214
Halberd: Change the weapon profile as follows:
‘Massed Infantry: See Regular Infantry entry, above.’ R S AP Special Rules
Halberd Combat S+1 -1 (-2) Armour Bane (1),
‘Parry: See Regular Infantry entry, above.’ Requires Two Hands
Notes: A halberd has an AP of -2 against enemy models the
Page 197 wielder charged this turn.
Weapon of War: Change the first sentence of the second
paragraph, as follows: Morning Star: Change the weapon profile as follows:
‘However, a war machine can freely pivot about its centre R S AP Special Rules
immediately before shooting (the better to face the enemy) Morning star Combat S+1 -1 Armour Bane (1)
and may make a follow up move as normal.’ Notes: A morning star’s Strength modifier and Armour Bane (1)
special rule apply only against enemy models the wielder charged
Page 209 this turn.
Enemy Shooting: Change the first paragraph as follows:
‘A character that has joined a unit of models of the same troop Page 215
type as them (i.e., infantry or cavalry), cannot be targeted by Lance: Change the weapon’s Notes as follows:
enemy shooting unless:’ ‘Notes: Models whose troop type is ‘cavalry’ or ‘monster’ only. A
lance can only be used during a turn in which the wielder charged,
Change the first sentence of the second paragraph, after the and its Strength and Armour Piercing modifiers apply only against
bullet points, as follows: enemy models the wielder charged that turn.’
‘If there are fewer than five rank and file models of the same
troop type as the character in the unit, the controlling player
must first allocate hits to the unit until one hit has been
allocated to each model it contains.’

“Look Out, Sir!”: Change the first sentence as follows:


‘If a character is hit by a shooting attack, and if there are five
or more rank and file models of the same troop type as the
character in the unit, the character can make a “Look Out,
Sir!” roll.’

4
Permission to download/print for personal use only. © Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2025.
Page 220 Page 323
Maximum Armour Value: Change the entry as follows: Steed of Shadows: Change the spell’s Casting Value to ‘8+’.
‘Regardless of the armour it wears or the equipment it carries,
there is a limit to how well protected a model can be, with Daemonic Vessel: Change the spell’s Casting Value to ‘9+’.
larger models proving much harder to encase in armour than
their smaller counterparts. To represent this, models whose Vortex of Chaos: Change the third, fourth and fifth sentences
troop type is: of the spell’s effect as follows:
‘Whilst in play, the template is treated as difficult terrain. The
• ‘Infantry’ or ‘cavalry’ can never have an armour value template scatters D6" during every Start of Turn sub-phase
better than 2+. (see page 95). Any unit (friend or foe) that moves through
• ‘Chariot’, ‘monster’ or ‘war machine’ can never have an the template, or that the template moves over, suffers D6+1
armour value better than 3+. Strength 3 hits, each with an AP of -.’

Any bonuses, regardless of their source, that would improve a Page 325
model’s armour further have no effect.’ Infernal Gateway: Change the spell’s Casting Value to ‘9+’.

Page 227 Page 327


5. Crunch: Change the second bullet point as follows: Flaming Sword: Change the spell’s Casting Value to ‘7+’.
‘If the path of the cannonball meets a hill, impassable terrain
or a high linear obstacle, it stops immediately. No further Summon Elemental Spirit: Change the third, fourth and fifth
models are hit.’ sentences of the spell’s effect as follows:
‘Whilst in play, the template is treated as difficult terrain over
Page 286 which no line of sight can be drawn. The template scatters
Dead or Fled: Change the third bullet point as follows: D6" during every Start of Turn sub-phase (see page 95). Any
• ‘Each enemy unit that has been reduced to 25% of its enemy unit that moves through the template, or that the
starting Unit Strength or less at the end of the battle or, if template moves over, suffers D3+3 Strength 4 hits, each with
its Unit Strength is equal to its starting Wounds, to 25% of an AP of -1.’
its starting Wounds or less at the end of the battle, is worth
a number of Victory Points equal to 50% of its points cost Earthen Ramparts: Change the spell’s Casting Value to ‘9+’.
(rounding fractions up).’
Travel Mystical Pathway: Change the first sentence of the
Page 321 spell’s effect as follows:
Pillar of Fire: Change the third, fourth and fifth sentences of ‘If the target friendly unit is not fleeing and has not already
the spell’s effect as follows: moved during this Movement phase, you may immediately
‘Whilst in play, the template is treated as difficult terrain. remove it from the battlefield and replace it anywhere
The template scatters D6" during every Start of Turn sub- completely within 12" of its original location, but not within 6"
phase (see page 95). Any enemy unit that moves through of any enemy models.’
the template, or that the template moves over, suffers D3+3
Strength 3 hits, each with an AP of -2.’ Page 329
Shield of Saphery: Change the spell’s Casting Value to ‘8+’.
Arcane Urgency: Change the spell’s Casting Value to ‘9+’.
Page 331
Curse of Cowardly Flight: Change the spell’s Casting Value Confounding Convocation: Change the spell’s Casting Value
to ‘8+’. to ‘8+’.

Miasmic Mirage: Change the spell’s Casting Value to ‘10+’.

5
Permission to download/print for personal use only. © Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2025.
Page 333 Page 342
Deathly Cabal: Change the spell’s Casting Value to ‘8+’. Ruby Ring of Ruin: Change the Points to ‘35’ and change the
rule as follows:
Spiritual Vortex: Change the spell’s Casting Value to ‘10+’ and ‘The wielder of the Ruby Ring of Ruin can cast the Fireball
change the fourth sentence of its effect as follows: spell from the Lore of Battle Magic (as described on page 321)
‘Whilst within 8" of one or more Spiritual Vortexes, enemy as a Bound spell, with a Power Level of 1.’
units suffer a -1 modifier to their Leadership characteristic
(to a minimum of 2) and cannot use their General’s Inspiring Page 344 (& Page 1 Of The Quick Reference Sheet)
Presence special rule.’ Casting a Spell: Change the first paragraph as follows:
‘To cast a spell, roll 2D6, then divide the casting Wizard’s Level
Curse of Years: Change the spell’s Casting Value to ‘9+’. of Wizardry by 2 (rounding fractions up) and add the result to
the Casting roll:’
Page 334
Fist of Gork (or Mork): Change the spell’s Casting Value to Dispelling a Spell: Change the second sentence of the first
‘8+’. paragraph as follows:
‘To dispel a spell, roll 2D6 (if attempting a Wizardly dispel,
Page 335 divide the dispelling Wizard’s Level of Wizardry by 2 and add
’Ere We Go!: Change the spell’s Casting Value to ‘8+’. the result to the Dispel roll):’

Foot of Gork (Or Mork): Change the third, fourth and fifth Change the first bullet point as follows:
sentences of the spell’s effect as follows:
‘Whilst in play, the template is treated as difficult terrain. The • If the result exceeds the Casting roll, the spell is dispelled.
template scatters 2D6" during every Start of Turn sub-phase
(see page 95). Any unit (friend or foe) that moves through
the template, or that the template moves over, suffers D3+3
Strength 5 hits, each with an AP of -1.’

Page 338
Ogre Blade: Change the Points to ‘75’.

Page 339
Berserker Blade: Change the weapon profile as follows:
R S AP Special Rules
Berserker Blade Combat S+1 - Extra Attacks (+1),
Impetuous,
Magical Attacks
Notes: The wielder of the Berserker Blade is Impetuous.

Page 340
Bedazzling Helm: Add the following to the start of the rule:
‘Models whose troop type is ‘infantry’ or ‘cavalry’ only.’

6
Permission to download/print for personal use only. © Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2025.
Frequently Asked Questions
Below you will find our answers to frequently asked questions. Where possible, answers are given immediately, followed by
further explanations. When this document is revised, updated entries will be highlighted in [blue], while entirely new additions
will be highlighted in [magenta].

General Principles Q: If some of my opponent’s attacks cause multiple Wounds to


Q: If a specific natural roll triggers an effect, is that effect be lost per unsaved wound they cause, in what order are those
still triggered if the dice is re-rolled and the re-roll gives a unsaved wounds applied to my unit?
different result? A: Apply unsaved wounds to a unit one at a time and one model
A: No. When you re-roll a dice the previous roll is discarded. This at a time. When a model is reduced to zero Wounds on its profile,
includes any effects that roll may have triggered. it is removed from play as a casualty (as described on page 102).
If a model loses more Wounds than it has on its profile, the excess
Q: If I mark the position of a unit then proceed to move it wounds are lost – they do not spill over onto other models in the
before putting it back where it was and moving it again, does same unit.
this count as a take-back?
A: Yes, absolutely. With this in mind, apply unsaved wounds that cause models to lose
all of their remaining Wounds first (Killing Blows and Monster
Q: What happens if a Hit is rolled on the Scatter dice for an Slaying Blows, for example), then unsaved wounds that cause
object that moves in a random direction, do I use the small multiple Wounds to be lost (Multiple Wounds (X), for example),
arrow on the Hit icon to determine the direction? then, finally, unsaved wounds that cause a single Wound to be lost.
A: Essentially, objects that move in a random direction scatter, as
described on page 95. Such objects only move in the direction shown Q: How does a Close Order unit of just one model act, is it still
by the small arrow on the Hit icon if the rules tell you they do so. a Close Order formation, or does it act like a Skirmisher?
Otherwise, the object does not move. A: A Close Order unit always acts as such, even if it only contains a
single model.
Q: What happens if a scatter roll causes any part of an object
to cross beyond the edge of the battlefield? Q: Does a unit count as being obscured when some of the
A: The object is removed from play. models within it are behind others?
A: No. A unit cannot be obscured from the enemy by itself.
Q: If a model is required to make a Leadership test using its
own Leadership characteristic, can it use the Leadership of a Q: Can different saves be combined together to improve their
different model, the General for example, instead? save value? For example, if a model has two Ward saves, can
A: No. When the rules state a model must make a Leadership test they be combined to give a single Ward save with a better
using its own Leadership, it must use its own Leadership. Warding value?
A: No, values given as a target number cannot be combined to
Q: Some single use special rules and magic items require a lower the target number. If a model has two or more Ward saves, as
Leadership test to use. Do they count as having been used even per the example, simply use the best.
if this test is failed?
A: Yes.

Q: Can a unit arrayed in Close Order or Open Order


formation be one model wide?
A: Yes.

7
Permission to download/print for personal use only. © Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2025.
Magic Q: Can a Wizard with a physical attribute that ‘counts as’ a
Q: How many spells can a Wizard attempt to cast during type of armour (such as a Treeman Ancient’s arboreal armour)
a single phase? For example, if a Wizard knows a Magical make Casting or Dispel rolls?
Vortex and a Magic Missile, can they attempt to cast both A: Yes. Whilst such attributes are as protective as a suit of armour,
during the same Shooting phase such models do not wear armour.
A: A Wizard can only cast a number of spells up to their Level of
Wizardry per turn, but can attempt to cast multiple spells during Q: Does a Wizard that has joined a unit need to be in base
a single phase. In other words, should a Level 2 Wizard know two contact with an enemy model to cast an Assailment spell, or
Magic Missiles and one Magical Vortex (three spells), they can only do they only need to be within the fighting rank?
cast two of them per turn, but may cast both during the same phase. A: They only need to be within the fighting rank.

Q: Casting the same Enchantment or Hex on a unit more than Q: If a Wizard declines a challenge and retires from combat,
once has no further effect, but what about spells with a range of does their unit lose the benefits of any range ‘Self ’ spells that
‘Self ’ that affect all units within a certain distance of the caster? Wizard has cast?
A: Unless stated otherwise, such spells are not cumulative and A: Yes.
casting them multiple times will have no further effect.
Q: If a unit with the Fly (X) special rule moves over a magical
Q: If a Wizard has a magic item or special rule that allows vortex that counts as dangerous terrain, is it affected by it?
them to re-roll a failed Casting roll, can they re-roll a natural A: Yes. Magical vortexes are considered tall enough to affect even
double 1 and avoid a Miscast? models that are flying high above the battlefield.
A: No. A roll of a natural double 1 isn’t merely a failed Casting roll,
it is a Miscast, as described on page 109. Movement
Q: What constitutes a ‘move’?
Q: If a spell has two Casting Values, do I have to say which I’m A: Quite simply, if you touch a model or unit and change its
attempting to cast the spell at before making my Casting roll? position in any way, it has moved. There are some exceptions to
A: No, your casting result determines the ‘strength’ of the spell. In this, a war machine that pivots does not count as having moved, for
other words, the higher your casting result, the more power the spell example, but in the vast majority of cases, the term ‘move’ follows
will have and the greater its effect will be. the broadest definition; if a model or unit shifts its position or
changes its location, it has moved.
Q: If a Remains in Play spell with two Casting Values is cast at
the higher value, which is used when trying to dispel it during Q: What is the furthest a model can move?
the Conjuration sub-phase? A: No model can move more than twice its Movement
A: As stated on page 111, in order to dispel a Remains in Play spell characteristic or, when movement is determined by a dice roll
during your Conjuration sub-phase, you must beat the minimum (such as when a unit charges or flees), further than the distance
casting value given in the spell’s description. This is the case even if rolled. There are, of course, exceptions to this, the most obvious
the spell was cast at the higher of two given casting values. being when a unit in Marching Column marches at triple its
Movement characteristic, when models are moved by the effect of
Q: How many Remains in Play spells can I attempt to dispel a spell, when a unit is obliged to continue its move rather than end
during my Conjuration sub-phase? up ‘on top’ of another unit, and obligatory moves (such as when a
A: As many as you wish, or, perhaps more accurately, as many as charging unit wheels to align with the enemy, or when a unit pivots
your opponent has in play and as many as you are able. before fleeing).

Q: What happens to a Remains in Play spell that is already in Note that when a unit wheels, those at its rear do not really follow
effect if the Wizard that cast it attempts to cast it again? a long, curving path, as it might appear when moving a large block
A: It ends immediately. of models on the table. In reality, those models would take a more
direct route, following the path of the front rank and resuming their
Q: Can a model wearing armour or carrying a shield cast a formation behind it. Accordingly, we do not measure the distance
Bound spell? moved by models in the rear ranks of a wheeling unit.
A: Yes.
Note also that, when a unit is permitted a free manoeuvre before or
Q: Can a Wizard attempt to dispel a Bound spell by after moving, this is free in that it does not count towards the move
attempting a Wizardly dispel? itself, but the limitation that no model can move more than twice
A: If the Wizard is within range of the model casting the Bound its Movement characteristic applies within the manoeuvre.
spell and not otherwise prevented from attempting a Wizardly
dispel, yes. As stated on page 109, you may attempt to dispel a
Bound spell as usual.

8
Permission to download/print for personal use only. © Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2025.
Q: Can a unit that rallies and reforms during the Rally Fleeing Q: If a Drilled unit in Marching Column has to declare a
Units sub-phase move during the Movement phase? charge due to being Frenzied or Impetuous, can it choose not
A: Yes. to use Drilled to redress the ranks and adopt combat order?
A: If it is able to redress the ranks (i.e., if there is space for it to do
Q: Can a unit move whilst locked in combat? so), no. A unit that is obliged to charge must endeavour to make
A: No. use of any special rules it has in order to charge. The unit just really
wants to charge, and it’ll play this game without you if it has to!
Q: Is a unit’s maximum possible charge range the maximum
distance from an enemy unit at which it can declare a charge, Q: If I want to charge an enemy unit that is a Large Target
or the maximum distance it can move when making a with a unit of mine that is in its front arc (for example) but
charge move? cannot because the enemy unit is already engaged in its front
A: It is the maximum distance from an enemy unit at which it can arc, can I instead charge its flank?
declare a charge. A: No. Sometimes a charge isn’t possible.

Q: When a unit performs a manoeuvre, can its front edge pass Q: If a single model unit straddles two arcs of an enemy unit
through another unit? it wishes to charge, is it always considered to be in the arc that
A: No. The only exception to this is when a unit pivots. gives the least advantage?
A: No, this is only the case when you cannot determine which arc
Q: When a unit wheels, is it acceptable for a rear corner to of an enemy unit a charging unit is within. If it is clear that the
pass through another unit? majority of a charging unit is within one particular arc, even if that
A: Yes, provided the unit does not end its movement ‘on top’ of unit consists of only one model, it will charge into that arc.
another unit or within 1" of an enemy unit.
Q: If a unit charges an enemy that is defending a low linear
Q: If a unit will have to wheel before or during a charge, obstacle, can it stop on top of the obstacle?
do I have to allow for that when declaring and measuring A: No. As stated on page 270, the charging unit moves into base
the charge? contact with the obstacle.
A: Yes. Wheeling during a charge is part of the charge move. The
free wheel to align once contact is made is free. Q: When a unit redirects a charge, can it charge a unit that lies
beyond its maximum possible charge range?
Q: Does a unit that has to declare a charge due to being A: No.
Frenzied or Impetuous have to do so if a friendly unit of
Skirmishers lies between it and a potential charge target, Q: When a unit enters the battle as reinforcements, is there a
obstructing its movement? limit to how far onto the battlefield models can be placed?
A: If there is a chance of the Skirmishers moving so that they are A: Yes. The unit is considered to have moved onto the battlefield.
no longer an obstruction (if they declare a charge, for example), yes. Therefore, no model can be placed more than twice its Movement
Otherwise, no. characteristic from the edge of the battlefield its unit enters from.

Q: Although it cannot make a charge move, a unit in Q: Can a Wizard cast a Conveyance spell during a turn in
Marching Column can declare a charge. Why is this? which they charged?
A: There are several reasons. Firstly, a Drilled unit that declares A: No.
a charge whilst in Marching Column can freely redress its ranks to
adopt Combat Order after determining its charge range, but before
moving, thus allowing it to make a charge move.

Secondly, units that are obliged to declare a charge in certain


circumstances (those that are Frenzied or Impetuous, for example)
must do so even whilst in Marching Column. If they cannot make
the charge move, they don’t move at all and the charge is failed.
This prevents Marching Column being used to avoid declaring
compulsory charges.

Alternatively, there might be a psychological advantage to declaring


a charge with a Marching Column. For example, the unit might
cause Terror, or the charge target might already be fleeing. Of
course, it isn’t easy to set up situations where such tactics can be
used and therein lies the challenge.

9
Permission to download/print for personal use only. © Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2025.
Shooting Q: Models in the fighting rank that are killed before they have
Q: Can a model that chooses to Stand & Shoot (or Fire & a chance to fight cannot, but can a model make a supporting
Flee) as a charge reaction attempt to cast a Magic Missile or attack if the model in front of it is slain?
Magical Vortex? A: Yes, if they have not been killed, models able to make supporting
A: No. As stated on page 143, models that know such spells can attacks can do so as normal. In other words, casualties inflicted
attempt to cast them when chosen during the active player’s reduce firstly the number of models in the fighting rank that are
Shooting phase. Perhaps obviously, this includes Bound spells. able to fight and secondly the number of models in the ‘supporting
rank’ that are able to fight.
Q: Can a model use a Breath weapon after marching?
A: No. A model cannot shoot during the Shooting phase if it Q: How many attacks can a model with a split profile make
marched during the preceding Movement phase and, although they if it is in the fighting rank but not in base contact with
work differently to most missile weapons, Breath weapons are a the enemy?
type of missile weapon. A: A model with a split profile consists of not one model, but
several, all sharing the same base. Therefore, each model on that
Q: Models cannot cast Magic Missiles or Magical Vortexes base could make a single attack. In the case of a cavalry model, for
after marching, but does this include Bound spells? example, this would be one attack from the rider and one from
A: Yes. their mount.

Q: Can a unit that is partially on a hill shoot in two ranks or Q: My unit charges an enemy unit that is defending a low
draw a line of sight across other units that are not themselves linear obstacle, making base contact with the obstacle
on a hill? rather than the unit. Can my unit make Impact Hits or
A: Only with those models that are on the hill. For example, if a Stomp Attacks?
unit consists of twenty models in two ranks of 10 and only 5 models A: No. Models must be in base contact with the enemy to make
in each rank are on the hill, only those 10 models can claim the Impact Hits or Stomp Attacks.
benefits of shooting from a hill.
Q: Can a Close Order unit of just one model claim the Close
Q: Can a unit on a hill draw a line of sight across and shoot Order combat result bonus?
over another unit on the same hill? A: Yes, provided it has a high enough Unit Strength (as per the
A: A unit that is closer to the top of a hill (i.e., the centre of the hill errata on page 1). A unit of just one model is still a unit.
or the edge of the battlefield) can draw a line of sight across and
shoot over one that is closer to the bottom. Units cannot draw a line Q: What happens to a unit that Gives Ground whilst within 2"
of sight across or shoot over units that are closer to the top of a hill of the edge of the battlefield?
than they are. A: Should any part of a unit cross beyond the edge of the battlefield
whilst it is Giving Ground, the entire unit is removed from play and
Q: Some chariots are equipped with large scale missile counts as having been destroyed.
weapons such as bolt throwers. Who shoots such weapons; the
crew, the beasts that draw the chariot, or the chariot itself ? Q: What happens to a unit that cannot Give Ground due to
A: Missile weapons mounted on chariots (or howdahs) are shot by the presence of another unit?
the crew, using their Ballistic Skill. A: The unit’s movement stops immediately, as if it
were surrounded.
Combat
Q: Models that are in base contact with different enemy units Q: What happens if a unit that wishes to make a pursuit or
can choose which to attack. When is this decision made, at the overrun move cannot move due to the presence of other units?
start of the combat or when the model’s turn to fight comes? A: It may happen that it is simply impossible for a pursuing or
A: When the model’s turn to fight comes. overrunning unit to move without it ending up ‘on top’ of another
unit. In such cases, the unit does not move, but is considered to have
Q: If a unit’s fighting rank is engaged with two enemy units, made a pursuit or overrun move.
one of which is a lone character engaged in a challenge, can
models within the unit’s fighting rank ignore the character Q: If a unit completely destroys its enemy in combat
even if they are closer to it than to the other enemy unit, or are and makes an overrun move, can it attempt to reform
their attacks lost? after moving?
A: Models not engaged in a challenge cannot direct their attacks A: Unless it pursued into a fresh enemy, yes. A unit that overruns
against models that are. In other words, any models that would makes a normal pursuit move and, since its enemy has already been
normally have to direct their attacks against the character are free to wiped out, it may attempt to reform as if it had run down its foe, as
direct them instead against the other unit their unit is engaged with. described on page 129.

10
Permission to download/print for personal use only. © Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2025.
Challenges Universal Special Rules
Q: If a Wizard engaged in a challenge knows and uses an Q: Can you choose not to roll for the arrival of Ambushers
Assailment spell that can hit multiple enemy models (such during your Start of Turn sub-phase?
as Assailment spells that use a template), are multiple enemy A: No. Unless the unit itself or the scenario being played has a
models hit, or is it only the other participant in the challenge special rule that changes the way in which Ambushers arrive, you
that can be hit? must roll for their arrival during each of your turns, from round
A: When an Assailment spell is cast in a challenge, it can only hit two onwards. However, any special rules that affect the arrival of
the other participant in the challenge. Ambushers which take effect after the Start of Turn sub-phase but
before the Compulsory Moves sub-phase may be used as normal,
Q: If one participant in a challenge causes Impact Hits or regardless of the result of the Ambushers roll.
makes Stomp Attacks, where are they directed?
A: Impact Hits are resolved prior to issuing challenges. Stomp Q: Does the Armour Bane (X) special rule apply to spells cast
Attacks may be directed against the other participant in by a model with the rule, such as Assailment spells, Magic
the challenge. Missiles or Magical Vortexes?
A: No.
Q: If one participant in a challenge is killed, can other models
engaged in the same combat direct their Attacks against the Q: If a model has Armour Bane (X) listed amongst its special
survivor during the same Combat phase when it is their turn rules (i.e., if the model has the special rule itself rather than
to fight? a weapon it carries having it), does it apply to Impact Hits or
A: No. Even if one participant in a challenge has been slain, the Stomp Attacks?
challenge is considered to be ongoing until the end of the current A: Yes.
Combat phase.
Q: Some mounted models have the Counter Charge special
Q: Is Overkill counted by or against a champion in a challenge, rule but others do not, even though they have the same type of
or does it only count for characters? mount. Is this intentional?
A: Overkill counts in all challenges, whether the participants are A: Yes. Counter Charge is a rule that represents the skill and
characters or champions. ferocity of the rider, not their mount. In other words, not every
rider is willing or able to perform a counter charge, regardless of
Q: Two characters are engaged in a challenge whilst their their mount.
units battle around them. At the end of the round, the losing
unit might Fall Back in Good Order or Give Ground. If their Q: When a unit Counter Charges, it rolls D3+1 to determine
enemy pursues or follows up, does the challenge continue? how far it moves. Is this roll counted as a Charge roll?
A: Yes. As stated on page 211, if both participants in a A: No.
challenge survive the round and if the combat continues, the
challenge continues. Q: If a unit charged by two or more enemy units Counter
Charges one of them, it may end its movement presenting
The Psychology of War a different arc to the other charging unit(s). Do those units
Q: Are units required to make Panic tests due to the actions of resolve their charges against those arcs?
friendly models? For example, if a Wizard miscasts and rolls a A: Yes. When a unit Counter Charges, it risks exposing its flanks or
2-4 on the Miscast table, causing a Dimensional Cascade and rear to the enemy, such are the perils of bravado.
inflicting sufficient casualties on a friendly unit to cause it to
Panic, must that unit make a Panic test? Q: If a unit whose troop type is ‘infantry’ that has been joined
A: Yes (that example sounds to us like something that really would by a character whose troop type is ‘cavalry’ charges an enemy
cause panic amongst the ranks!). unit with the Counter Charge special rule, can that unit
Counter Charge?
Q: Units must make a Panic test when a nearby friendly unit A: No. A unit’s troop type doesn’t change when joined by
with a Unit Strength of 5 or more is destroyed. When is Unit a character.
Strength counted – from the start of the turn, the start of the
phase, or the point at which the unit is destroyed? Q: How far does a model with the Random Movement special
A: From the start of the phase during which the unit was destroyed. rule move when making a Counter Charge?
For example, if a friendly unit with a Unit Strength of 10 is destroyed A: As stated in the Counter Charge special rule, a model that
by enemy shooting during a single Shooting phase, it causes panic in makes a Counter Charge moves D3+1".
nearby friendly units. Players are not expected to remember the Unit
Strength of every unit from turn to turn or phase to phase, but should
keep track of Unit Strength during each phase.

11
Permission to download/print for personal use only. © Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2025.
Q: Can a Drilled unit redress the ranks before Giving Ground? Q: ‘War beasts’ and ‘swarms’ Fear models with the Flaming
A: Yes. A unit that Gives Ground is not a fleeing unit. Attacks special rule. Do ‘war beasts’ and ‘swarms’ that have the
Immune to Psychology special rule Fear models that have the
Note that, as mentioned previously, should any part of a unit Flaming Attacks special rule?
cross beyond the edge of the battlefield whilst it is Giving Ground, A: Yes. Even though models that cause Fear are normally immune
the entire unit is removed from play and counts as having been to it, the rule that Swarms and War beasts Fear models with
destroyed. It is intentional that a Drilled unit might be able to Flaming Attacks is an exception called out in those troop types’
avoid this fate. unique rules.

Q: Do effects that modify a model’s Movement characteristic Q: If some models in a unit cause Fear but others do not, do
also modify how far a model with the Fly (X) special rule I use the Unit Strength of the whole unit or just that of the
can fly? models that cause Fear to determine if an enemy unit has a
A: Yes. If a model has the Fly (X) special rule, the number given in lower Unit Strength?
brackets is essentially a second Movement characteristic. Any effect A: Count only the Unit Strength of the models that cause Fear.
that modifies one will modify both.
Q: Units with the Motley Crew special rule use the armour
Q: Can a model with two versions of the Fly (X) special rule value of the ‘majority’ of models. What if there is an even
combine both and fly further? number of different armour values?
A: No. A model that has more than one version of the Fly (X) A: In such cases, use the better armour value (not including the
special rule essentially has two Movement characteristics it can use armour value of any characters or champions that have purchased
when flying. Of these, you may use the best. magic items or unique upgrades to improve their armour).

Q: If a unit with the Fly (X) special rule is engaged in combat, Q: What happens if a unit with the Move through Cover
can it use its ‘Fly Movement’ characteristic when determining special rule is joined by a character without it?
which models are close enough to models within the enemy A: Units move at the speed of their slowest model. Therefore, whilst
unit to fight or make supporting attacks? the unit would suffer no penalty for moving through difficult or
A: No. Models with the Fly (X) special rule only fly whilst moving. dangerous terrain, the character would, potentially reducing how
In other words, such models are considered to have landed on the far the entire unit can move.
ground whilst the fighting takes place, and must use their given
Movement characteristic to determine if they are close enough to Q: What happens if a weapon is subject to both the Ponderous
the enemy to fight. and Quick Shot special rules?
A: The rules effectively cancel one another out, meaning the
Q: If a model with a split profile has the Impact Hits (X) weapon would suffer a -1 To Hit modifier for Moving and Shooting.
special rule, do all parts of the model cause Impact Hits?
A: No. Impact Hits are only made by a mount, not by its rider(s). Q: Can a unit with the Random Movement special rule move
In the case of a chariot, Impact Hits are made by the chariot itself, around or past an enemy unit, out of one arc and into another,
not by the beasts that draw it. If a rider has their own Impact Hits before making contact with that unit?
(X) special rule, these are made separately by the rider. A: No. Whilst units that move randomly do not declare charges, if
you wish to move one into contact with an enemy unit, it must fulfil
Q: If a unit with Frenzy or Impetuous has two movement the same criteria as any other charging unit during its movement,
characteristics (for example, if it can also Fly), does it have to as detailed on page 126.
use the greater when determining if it must declare a charge?
A: If it is able to use the greater, then yes, it must (tactically, you Q: How far does a unit with the Random Movement special
might not want it to, but a Frenzied Lord of Chaos on a mighty rule move when Giving Ground?
Dragon doesn’t care about your tactics!). A: All units move 2" when Giving Ground.

Q: If a unit that is subject to Frenzy becomes subject to Frenzy Q: Can a unit that deploys using the Scouts special rule make a
again, does it get +2 Attacks? Vanguard move?
A: No. A unit is either Frenzied or it isn’t, multiple instances of A: No.
Frenzy are not cumulative.
Q: Are units that deploy using the Scouts special rule counted
when determining which player finished deploying their
army first?
A: Yes.

12
Permission to download/print for personal use only. © Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2025.
Q: If a model with a split profile has the Stomp Attacks (X) Unusual Formations
special rule, do all parts of the model make Stomp Attacks? Q: Some attacks allow a specific model within a unit to be
A: No. Stomp attacks are only made by a mount, not by its targeted. Can such an attack be used to break the coherency
rider(s). In the case of a chariot, Stomp Attacks are made by the of a unit of Skirmishers and cause other models to be removed
beasts that draw it or, if there are no beasts, by the chariot itself. as well?
A: No. As stated on page 184, you cannot remove a model from
Q: When a unit that does not have the Stupidity special rule is a unit of Skirmishers if doing so would cause the unit to lose
joined by a character that does, the unit becomes subject to the coherency. However, if an attack targets a specific model (such as a
special rule. What happens if the character leaves the unit? champion or a character), that model must be removed if the attack
A: The unit ceases to be subject to Stupidity the moment the reduces it to zero Wounds. In such cases, simply replace the removed
character leaves the unit. model with another model belonging to the same unit, one that
could be removed as a casualty, in order to maintain unit coherency.
Q: Swiftstride enables a model to move further during a
charge move than its maximum possible charge range. Why Q: How do I determine the centre of a unit of Skirmishers?
is this? A: The centre is the point that is equally distant from the models
A: Because models with this special rule delight in running down at the extremities of the group. However, when considering blast
cowards who flee before a charge! templates, the purpose of placing a blast template over the centre of
a unit is to ensure a significant number of models are underneath
Q: Do models that cause Terror cause it in models that it. In the case of a unit of Skirmishers, this is not always possible.
cause Fear? Therefore, you may place the central hole of a blast template over
A: No. Models that cause Terror cause Fear in models with the Fear the model closest to the centre of a unit of Skirmishers.
special rule, even though such models are normally immune to Fear.
Q: Sometimes, when a unit of Skirmishers charges or is
Q: If the winning side of a combat includes one or charged, some of the models cannot move far enough to form
more models that cause Terror, do models on the losing up with the rest of the unit. What happens to those models?
side that cause Fear or Terror suffer the -1 modifier to A: The unit loses coherency, as described on page 184. This
their Leadership? means models belonging to the unit must be removed from play as
A: No. Because models that cause Fear or Terror aren’t terrified by casualties until the unit becomes coherent.
Terror causing enemies, they do not suffer the effects of Terror.
Q: How does a unit of Skirmishers form up when charged by
Q: If a character without the Vanguard special rule joins a unit two or more different enemy units from different directions?
with it during deployment, can the character make a Vanguard A: The Skirmishers should form up against the first charging unit
move with the unit? to move into contact with them. The remaining enemy units then
A: No. What’s more, if the unit is formed, it will not be able to charge the formed Skirmishers. If any units are unable to complete
make a Vanguard move, the presence of a character without the their charge moves, their charges are failed.
Vanguard special rule within its ranks prevents it. However, if the
unit is in Skirmish formation, it can make its Vanguard move as Q: Do Skirmishers have flank or rear arcs whilst engaged
normal, leaving the character behind. in combat?
A: No.
Q: Can a character without the Veteran special rule that has
joined a unit with the Veteran special rule benefit from it
when attempting to use a special rule that requires them to
make a Leadership test (Rallying Cry, for example)?
A: No. When a character attempts to use a special rule that
requires them to make a Leadership test, they must use their own
Leadership characteristic and, unless specifically stated otherwise,
cannot use any additional special rules they themselves do not have.

13
Permission to download/print for personal use only. © Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2025.
Characters Q: If a character mounted on a ridden monster or chariot
Q: Can my Battle Standard Bearer have a higher Leadership carries a shield, does that improve the mount’s armour value?
than my General? A: No, a shield is carried by the character, not the mount.
A: No. As stated on page 203, the General is the character with the
highest Leadership. If this means not upgrading the character with Q: Does the presence in a unit of a character whose base takes
the highest Leadership in your army to be your Battle Standard up the space of two or more models in two or more ranks
Bearer so that they can be your General, so be it. reduce that unit’s rank bonus?
A: No.
Q: If a unit that is subject to any Leadership modifiers uses the
General’s Inspiring Presence rule (or any other rule that allows Q: A Clumsy unit cannot be joined by a character that is not
a unit to use the Leadership of a nearby character), does the also Clumsy, but can a Clumsy character join a unit that is
unit ignore those modifiers? not Clumsy?
A: No, the modifier will still apply. For example, if a unit loses A: Yes.
a round of combat to a Terror causing enemy, the -1 modifier
to Leadership caused by Terror applies to whichever Leadership Q: Does a unit that is joined by a character of a different troop
characteristic the unit makes its Break test against, be that its own type gain the rules associated with the character’s troop type?
or that of a nearby character. A: No.

Q: If my Battle Standard Bearer refuses a challenge and retires Q: Can a character who is within the fighting rank of their
from combat, can other units still benefit from their “Hold unit but not in base contact with the enemy move through the
Your Ground” special rule? ranks so that they are?
A: Not whilst that character’s unit is still engaged with the model A: No. Characters can move through the ranks into the fighting
that issued the challenge. A battle standard is somewhat less rank, but cannot move within the fighting rank.
inspirational whilst being used as a blanket to hide beneath.
Q: Can a character be placed amongst a unit’s
Q: When a character takes a chariot as a mount, do they command group?
replace one of the crew? A: Yes.
A: No. The points you pay for a chariot include its crew, whether
that chariot is included in your army on its own or as a mount Q: If a Warband character (as described on page 180) joins
for a character. However, in reality it might prove difficult to fit a a Warband with a Rank Bonus of one or more, does the
character and the full complement of crew into the chariot model modifier to their Leadership characteristic increase their
itself. If so, it is perfectly acceptable to remove one or more of the Command range?
crew models to make space for the character. In such cases, we can A: Yes.
think of the missing crew model’s profile(s) as a way of representing
that the beasts pulling a character’s chariot are bound to be bigger, Q: If a Warband character joins a unit that isn’t a
stronger and better trained than normal. Warband, does that unit’s Rank Bonus modify their
Leadership characteristic?
Q: A character mounted on a ridden monster or a chariot A: No.
can choose to use their own or their mount’s armour value,
whichever is better. If the character wears magic armour but I Q: My unit wishes to shoot at an enemy lone character.
choose to use the mount’s armour value, can I still claim other However, an enemy unit that is more than 3" away from
benefits conferred by the magic armour? that character presents a closer target. Can I shoot at the
A: No. You must use a magic item fully or not at all. lone character?
A: Yes. The rule that a lone character cannot be shot at unless they
Q: If I have a character with an armour value of 6+ mounted are the closest target only extends to units they are within 3" of. If
on a chariot with an armour value of 4+, for example, am I a unit is more than 3" from the character, it does not protect them,
obliged to use the chariot’s armour value? regardless of how close it is to the enemy.
A: No, you choose whichever armour value is better. However,
allowing for magical armour and other special rules, ‘better’ is Q: Can a character that has joined a unit of models of a
somewhat subjective. Obviously an armour value of 4+ is better different troop type be targeted by enemy shooting? For
than one of 6+ but there is often more to deciding which armour example, if a character whose troop type is ‘light chariot’ joins
to use than just the armour value it offers, many types of magic a unit of ‘regular infantry’, can they be targeted?
armour confer additional bonuses that make them better. Basically, A: Yes. What’s more, they don’t get a “Look Out, Sir!” save either.
when the rules say ‘choose’, they are giving you a choice.

14
Permission to download/print for personal use only. © Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2025.
Q: If a character joins a unit that carries a magic standard, do Q: Some monsters have weapons with notes that state
its effects extend to the character? they must make, or may choose to make, one attack, or one
A: Yes. When a character joins a unit they become part of that additional attack, with that weapon in combat. Can they make
unit, so magic standards that affect the unit affect them as well. more than one attack with such weapons?
A: No. If it is noted on a weapon’s profile that the model may or
Q: Cannon do not directly target enemy models; they target must make a specific number of attacks with that weapon, normal
a point on the ground. How does this work with Targeting attacks or otherwise, that’s how many attacks it makes with
Lone characters? Can a cannon be fired in such a way as to that weapon.
hit a Lone character that would normally be protected from
shooting by their proximity to a friendly unit? Q: Can a model armed with two hand weapons choose to fight
A: The purpose of the Targeting Lone Characters rule is to protect with just one hand weapon?
characters from enemy shooting, even from shooting that does A: Yes. As noted on page 213, unless stated otherwise, all models
not follow the usual rules (though it does not protect them from are assumed to be equipped with a hand weapon. A model with
templates). Therefore, and in the spirit of this rule, unless they are two has, by definition, two and may choose to fight with just one,
the closest target to the cannon, an enemy character that is within foregoing the Extra Attacks (+1) special rule in favour of some
3" of a friendly unit that contains five or more models of the same other benefit.
troop type cannot be struck by a cannonball, even if their base lies
directly under the path of the bouncing cannonball. However, if a Q: Can a missile weapon be used in combat?
Lone character’s base lies directly underneath the strike point of a A: No.
cannonball, they are hit.
War Machines
Q: Some magic weapons or special rules allow specific models Q: If the Wounds characteristic of a war machine and its crew
within a unit to be targeted. Do such attacks ignore the “Look are different, which do I use to determine Unit Strength?
Out, Sir!” rule? A: In such cases, use the Wounds characteristic of the crew.
A: No.
Q: Can a cannon target a point on the ground if woods or a
Q: If a named character is equipped with a mundane weapon hill lies between it and that point?
such as a lance or cavalry spear and a magic weapon, can they A: No, a cannon cannot shoot over woods or hills, even if it is on a
choose to use the lance or cavalry spear, or must they use their hill. However, a stone thrower can if it chooses to fire indirectly.
magic weapon?
A: They must use their magic weapon. However, some named Q: Can a cannon target a point on the ground if another unit
characters will carry a ‘back-up’ weapon which they can use should lies between it and that point?
their magic weapon be destroyed. A: Not unless that cannon is on a hill and the unit is not. However,
as above, a stone thrower can if it chooses to fire indirectly.
Weapons Of War
Q: Do special rules conferred by a model’s weapon apply to Q: Can a cannon be shot in such a way as to hit an enemy unit
attacks made by that model’s mount? that is engaged in combat with a friendly unit?
A: No. Any rules conferred by a weapon, be it magical or mundane, A: No. Page 143 of the rulebook makes it clear that, except in rare
apply only to attacks made with that weapon. This can include, cases, units cannot shoot enemy units that are engaged in combat.
but is not limited to, rules unique to a specific type of weapon, special In the case of cannon, this means the target point cannot be placed
rules that apply to a particular weapon, or special rules that apply to in such a way as to risk the cannonball hitting a friendly unit, or an
a magic weapon. For example, if a Wizard is armed with the Sword enemy unit engaged in combat with a friendly unit.
of Swiftness, attacks made with that weapon have the Strikes First
special rule, but the Wizard cannot claim that wielding the weapon Q: Can a war machine shoot using the Ballistic Skill of a
allows them to cast Assailment spells at Initiative 10. character that has joined it?
A: No. Because a war machine and its crew are treated as a single
To give another example, if a model has a special rule unique to its model, you must use the crew’s BS.
faction that grants additional rules to a hand weapon (the crew of
an Orc Boar Chariot have the Choppas special rule, for example),
that rule applies only to actual hand weapons carried by riders or
chariot crew, not to weapons belonging to mounts or draft animals
that ‘count as’ hand weapons.

15
Permission to download/print for personal use only. © Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2025.
Warhammer Armies Lores Of Magic
Q: If my opponent and I have agreed to play a 2,000 points Q: If the spell Arcane Urgency is used to move a unit with
game but my army is not exactly 2,000 points (it’s 1,997 points, Random Movement, can the unit move into contact with an
for example), can I take two of something limited to 0-1 per enemy unit?
1,000 points by the army composition list I’m using? A: No. Whilst a unit with Random Movement can move into base
A: Yes. Such limitations are based on the size of the game you are contact with an enemy unit during the Compulsory Moves sub-
playing rather than the exact points value of your army. phase, Arcane Urgency causes units to move when the spell is cast,
during the Remaining Moves sub-phase.
Q: Does an allied contingent have to abide by the restrictions
given in the army composition list it is drawn from? Q: If a unit upon which Earthen Ramparts has been cast
A: Yes. An allied contingent is a small army within a large army, is obliged to declare a charge (if the unit is Frenzied or
made using a Grand Army or Army of Infamy composition list. Impetuous, for example), must it do so? If so, can it make a
Within a 2,000 points army, for example, an allied contingent of charge move?
500 points would have to spend at least 125 points on Core units, A: Earthen Ramparts does not prevent a unit from declaring a
could spend no more than 250 points on characters, and would be charge, it prevents it from charging. In other words, yes the unit
unable to include any units limited to 0-1 per 1,000 points. must declare a charge if obliged to do so. However, because the unit
cannot charge, it does not move at all and the charge is failed.
Q: Do the points I spend on Core units within an allied
contingent count towards the minimum percentage of Core Q: Can a unit upon which Earthen Ramparts has been cast
units overall? make a Counter Charge charge reaction?
A: No. A: No.

Q: Does a spell cast on a Regimental Unit affect its Q: If a unit charges an enemy unit upon which Earthen
Detachments, or vice versa? Ramparts has been cast, must it follow all the rules for
A: No, spells that affect a unit only affect the unit they are cast on. charging an enemy unit behind a defended low linear obstacle,
even though there is no such physical terrain between the
Warhammer Battles two units?
Q: The rulebook lists the minimum size of battlefield as 30" x A: Yes. A unit upon which Earthen Ramparts has been cast counts
44" for games of up to 1,000 points, 44" x 60" for 1,001 to 3,000 as being behind a defended low linear obstacle when charged. Think
points and 44" x 90" for games of 3,001 points or above. Do we of the spell’s effect as representing a magically manifested obstacle,
have to use these sizes? rather than a physical terrain feature.
A: No. These are the minimum recommended sizes. The normal
size battlefield for a game of between 2,000 and 3,000 points is Q: Can the spell Spectral Doppelganger from the Lore of
48" x 72" (4' x 6') and players are encouraged to use this. The Illusion be used with a magic weapon that allows the wielder
minimum sizes are based on the folding card battlefields Games to make only a single attack?
Workshop produces. These are ideal when space is an issue or for A: No. Weapons limited to a single attack can only inflict a
smaller games. For example, we prefer a 44" x 60" battlefield for single hit.
a game of 1,000 or 1,500 points, rather than the more traditional
48" x 48" battlefield. We find the smaller, rectangular shape Q: How does the Spectral Doppelganger spell interact with
more pleasing. weapons that have either the Strike First or Strike Last
special rule?
Q: When deploying armies, must units be placed completely A: The spell is cast at the Wizard’s Initiative, meaning attacks
within their deployment zone? generated by the spell are made at the Wizard’s Initiative. However,
A: Yes. if the casting Wizard wishes to use a weapon with the Strike Last
special rule, those attacks are made at Initiative 1.

16
Permission to download/print for personal use only. © Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2025.
Magic Items Q: What happens if a Scroll of Transmogrification is used on
Q: Bearing two or more Obsidian Lodestones gives better a Bound spell?
Magic Resistance, but does an Obsidian Lodestone improve A: After testing against the item’s Power Level (in place of its Level
Magic Resistance granted by a different source? of Wizardry), it may be turned into an inanimate frog, rendering
A: No. it useless until it turns back. During each Start of Turn sub-phase,
you may roll a D6 for each transmogrified item in your army to see
Q: Does a magic standard that affects a unit’s weapons (the if it returns to normal, as described on page 343.
Razor Standard, for example) also make those weapons
magical, giving them the Magical Attacks special rule? Q: Can a Wizard with a Lore Familiar choose one of their
A: Not unless the description of the magic standard in question faction’s signature spells instead of the signature spell of their
states that the weapons of a unit carrying it gain the Magical chosen lore?
Attacks special rule. Generally speaking, purchasing a magic item A: No.
doesn’t conjure up additional bonuses from the æther.
Q: How many spells does a Wizard with an Arcane Familiar
Q: Can the wearer of the Wizarding Hat cast spells whilst know? For example, does a Level 3 Wizard know three spells
wearing armour? from two Lores (two from one and one from the other), or six
A: Yes. The wearer of the Wizarding Hat is not actually a Wizard spells, three from each Lore?
– their magical powers are granted by a haunted hat which is not A: An Arcane Familiar does not increase the number of spells a
affected by any armour the model may wear. Wizard knows, it simply allows them to know spells from two Lores.
Thus a Level 3 Wizard would know three spells from two Lores.
Q: Can the wearer of the Wizarding Hat also wear a magic
helmet, such as the Bedazzling Helm? Q: Some models can be found in one faction’s army list, but
A: Yes, because one is an enchanted item, the other is a type of can be included in an army made using a composition list
magic armour, but we hope anyone equipping a model in such a belonging to a different faction (Dragon Ogre Shaggoths, or
way would make the effort to depict it wearing two hats! units that can be included as Mercenaries, for example). What
lists of magic items do such models have access to?
Q: If a Wizard wears the Wizarding hat, does it increase their A: Models can purchase magic items from the list of common
Level of Wizardry? magic items in the Warhammer: the Old World rulebook, or from
A: No. As stated in the item’s description, the wearer of the their own faction’s list of magic items. A Dragon Ogre Shaggoth,
Wizarding Hat is a Level 1 Wizard and knows one randomly for example, can purchase items from the common or Beastmen
generated spell. This is clearly a huge detriment to a powerful Brayherds magic item lists.
Wizard, but might be a boon to any character that is not a Wizard.

Q: Do potions affect a model’s mount?


A: No.

Q: If the Scroll of Transmogrification is successfully used


against a Wizard mounted on a ridden monster (a Dragon, for
example), what happens to the mount?
A: The Wizard is transmogrified, but not their mount. In the
example given, you would be left with a Frog riding a Dragon.

17
Permission to download/print for personal use only. © Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2025.

You might also like