V1.
0
04-04-24
FAQ 2024
This FAQ is a chance to update and clarify the rules for Pillage. This document will be updated throughout the year
in order to bring you the clearest possible answers.
Lucky gaming one and all!
In General Simultaneous Melee
Clarification: With very few exceptions, melee in Pillage is
Penalties simultaneous. That means that in any one duel, the combatants
inflict their wounds on each other at the same time.
Clarification: When a player has to make a roll
However, this doesn’t mean that all melees take place
and apply a penalty, increase the target number simultaneously. The player with initiative chooses the order in
by one instead of removing a pip from the roll of which combats are resolved. Although this often has no effect,
the die (as on p.21). For example, this turns a roll sometimes it is profoundly important. Imagine a battle against a
of 4+ with a -1 penalty into a 5+ roll. shieldwall. If several duels are taking place against figures in the
shieldwall and the first combat slays one of them, it could break
the wall and deny its bonus to the fights that come next.
This prevents rolls that are impossible to make.
For example, if you deduct 1 from a roll of a d6, The same is true for a banner: if eliminated at the start of the
you will never get a 6. melee phase, it can’t grant its bonus during the rest of the turn.
Therefore, a roll of 6 with a -1 penalty becomes a Cost of Characters and Equipment
7+ roll. Clarification: Characters and equipment have specific costs.
Each character (including special characters) has a base cost
without equipment: Warrior, Chief, Berserker, Huscarl, Healer,
and Wagon.
Clarification: The maximum result a player can
get is 9 (a 6 followed by another 6). Any penalties Next, you need to buy equipment for each character – armour,
taking the target number past 9 are cancelled. melee and ranged weapons, and maybe even special equipment.
Thus, players always have a chance to succeed on
any roll.
Re-rolls
Question: Can you re-roll a die more than once if several re-
rolls are available (e.g. a chief with a relic re-rolls missed rolls to
hit, but a nearby banner also lets him re-roll 1s)?
Answer: A die can only be re-rolled once. If several re-rolls
are available, the most powerful one takes precedence. In the
example above, the relic’s re-roll would be used.
Movement Phase P.55 – Clarifying multiple combats
Replace: “figures can join an existing combat by charging an
P.32 – Charging enemy who is already engaged in melee.”
With: “figures can join an existing combat by contacting an
Clarification: You have to make a charge roll, even if there’s enemy who is already engaged in melee.”
barely any distance between the attacker and their target:
remember, the charge bonus is cancelled on a roll of 1.
Fire Phase
Shooting Phase
P.60
P.45 – Archers: Volley Fire Clarification: Cavalry figures can neither start fires nor pick up
Clarification: Volley fire pays no attention to how many shafts torches on the battlefield.
each archers looses. Each figure within 3” of the marker takes
one, just one, hit on a roll of a 6.
P.45 – Javelins
Erratum: Counter to what is written in the printed version of
the game aids, javelins can only be used to shoot once, even if
the figure hasn’t moved.
Special Characters
P.77 - Huscarls
Question: Do huscarls have to pay for their equipment (Dane
axe + hand weapon + armour) in addition to their profile cost?
Answer: Yes, their profile cost is for a unequipped warrior. You
Melee Phase always have to buy their equipment in addition.
P.49 – Melee To Hit Table P.78 - Wagons
Replace SP PP PC with UA SA FA Question: Does a wagon count towards percentages of casualties
taken, or the army’s proportion of shooters and/or cavalry?
P.50 – Dane Axe Answer: No. It’s not specifically stated, but the wagon isn’t a
Clarification: Unless the bearer charged this turn, Dane axes warrior – just an animal. That means it counts neither towards
strike last in melee. Since combat divides down into duels, in the casualty total nor the army’s composition.
a melee against several enemies the warrior with a Dane axe
strikes last in the fight against their first enemy, then defends
against the rest.
P.51
Replace: “In turn, warrior B can hit warrior A on a result of 5+
(spear vs SA), but has a penalty due to A1’s support. He gets a
5 for his roll to hit, which the penalty turns into a 6. That’s not
enough to hit his enemy.”
With: “In turn, warrior B would hit warrior A on a roll of 5+
(spear vs SA), but he has a penalty due to A1’s support. With the
penalty, his target number increases to 6. He rolls a 5, which isn’t
enough and so the roll to hit fails.”
P.51
Clarification: A spearman positioned to support an ally who is
engaged in melee doesn’t count as being engaged in that melee
himself. He can therefore be targeted by shooting separately
from the melee he is supporting. The normal shooting rules
apply to him.
SPECIAL EQUIPMENT Special Tactics
P.80 – Warhounds P.82 – Shieldwall
Question: During a melee, do warhounds count as several Question: Can a shieldwall charge?
figures for the sake of numerical superiority? Answer: In Pillage, actions are individual. If a warrior within
Answer: Yes, warhounds count as a single being made up of a shieldwall charges an enemy, they simultaneously break the
several figures. shieldwall’s formation. As specified in the rulebook, shieldwalls
can only use group movement. All other special moves –
Clarification: When warhounds have no master during the charging, swimming, climbing, etc. – are forbidden.
controlling player’s movement phase, they charge the closest
figure within their maximum range of 8”. Clarification: A shieldwall can’t be broken and reformed in the
same movement phase. Therefore, a figure who is part of one
Question: Do warhounds count towards the percentages for shieldwall can’t leave it and join another in the same game turn.
different troop types?
Answer: No, only the pack master counts.
Question: Is there a limit on the number of warhounds you can
have in an army?
Answer: No, there’s no limit!
Clarification: Warhounds count as special equipment, so they
have to be bought with gold pieces in the same way as a warrior’s
equipment.
Quick Reference Sheets
Victrix Website
Download up-to-date quick reference sheets directly from the
Victrix website at www.victrixlimited.com.