SlideShare a Scribd company logo
PPC Master Class
Brought to you by:
All-in-1 Amazon Marketing Toolkit from 1 single login!
(Research, Optimize, Automate, Leverage)
Sales Spy | Email Automator | Ebay Connect |Review Monitor
|Best Seller & Keyword Tracking | Listing Optimizer
$65/mo!Approx. $169/mo
*All prices are compared from the Business package
(Middle Level) of all products reviewed
Comparison Chart available at Zonguru.com
Exclusive offer for
Amazon Seller Webinar
viewers
14 day Free Trial!
Email Jon@ZonGuru.com, say you are from this webinar and
he’ll send you a 14 day free trial coupon
Premium Service Products Photography For E-Commerce
Sites Including Amazon FBA, Ebay And Etsy
Email Dee at info@productsphotography.co.uk
Small Package Medium Package Large Package
1 Product 2 Products 3 Products
8 images 16 images 24 images
5 Core Shots + 3 Detail
Shots
5 Core Shots + 3 Detail
Shots
5 Core Shots + 3 Detail
Shots
Total package price
£125.00 (excludes
premium add on’s)
Total package price
£225.00 (excludes
premium add on’s)
Total package price
£325.00 (excludes
premium add on’s)
High resolution images
(300dpi)- web-ready
High resolution images
(300dpi) and web-ready
High resolution images
(300dpi) and web-ready
Royalty free unlimited
usage
Royalty free unlimited
usage
Royalty free unlimited
usage
***Bespoke packages avaiable on request
Meetups - Webinars
Country Date Topic
HK Summit 17 Oct Danny’s Presentation
HK Meal Meetup 17 Oct Seller Meeting
HK Summit 19 Oct Anthony’s Presentation
Invite Only HK 19 Oct Power Sellers Event
USA Meetup 27 Oct PPC (Pay Per Click)
UK Meetup 8 Nov Seller Product Tools &
Amazon Reporting
UK Meetup 22 Nov Scaling Your Business
in 2017
Online Date Topic
Online Webinar 3 Oct Amazon Ranking
Factors
Online Webinar 6 Jan Power Sellers Panel
TheAmazonSeller.com
The Amazon Seller (UK)
1400 Members
The Amazon Seller
(Los Angeles) 400
Members
The Amazon Seller
(San Diego) 300+
Members
>2,800 members
>400 subscribers
The Money shot
The Holy Grail
The Holy Grail Part 2
The Holy Grail Part 3
Mindset
“The definition of
insanity is doing the
same thing over and
over again, but
expecting different
results”.
“Lucky for us
we don’t need
to be as smart
as Albert”
Or this guy
What is PPC?
PPC, or Pay Per Click is a
searcher's intent platform made
famous by Google.
Amazon has their own version with
Sponsored Ads, albeit on a much
smaller scale
Ad Auction
Amazon ads are sold in an auction.
You bid what you want to pay for a
click.
Amazon uses a number of factors to
determine the ad position, including; bid
and keyword relevance of listing and
browse node.
How does the ad auction work
You determine the bid amount on
your ad group or search phrase,
other sellers will use the same
process.
Amazon will then run a calculation using
multiple factors (including bid price) to
determine your ad position on the
search pages along side organic listings.
Auction - Basics
Bid Amount
Bid one £0.50
Bid two £0.30
Bid three £0.69
Bid four £0.23
Your bid £0.57
*Bids Amazon Receive (excludes other ranking factors)
Ad Pos. Bid Amount Cost
Ad Position One Bid three £0.69 Pays £0.58
Ad Position Two Your bid £0.57 Pays £0.51
Ad Position
Three
Bid one £0.50 Pays £0.31
Ad Position Four Bid two £0.30 Pays £0.24
Ad Position Five Bid four £0.23 Pays unknown
Auction results:
Advertising Cost of Sales (ACoS)
“This is calculated by dividing total ad
spend by attributed sales. For example, if
you spent £4 on advertising resulting in
attributed sales of £20, your ACoS would
be 20%”
The Magic Bullet (not)
PPC will not save the product
Build in plenty of optimisation budget
Learn the art of patience and persistence
Shiny Objects
Choosing the right product,
trumps PPC dexterity…
This is often overlooked
But…Don’t Push The Bolder
How you think is important…
Everyone want’s more sales…
You double the ad spend, right?
…WHY NOT FIX CONVERSION ISSUES?
How do I reduce
my ACoS?
Start With The Product
Selling at £10 means your ACoS is 20%
Selling at £30 makes it look far sexier
Customer Acquisition
Cost (ppc)
You Sell At The Unit
Price Of…
ACoS
£2.00 £10 20%
£2.00 £20 10%
£2.00 £30 6.7%
£2.00 £40 5%
£2.00 £50 4%
Where possible bake your PPC into
you product Selection on the front end
Avoid The ACoS Hill
Head Keywords
These keywords will start to mount up fast
Units Head Keywords Avg CPC
1 Salad spinner (1) £3.99
2 Salad Spinner (2) £2.66
3 Salad Spinner (3) £2.44
4 Salad Spinner (4) £2.10
5 Salad Spinner (5) £1.99
Long Tail Keywords
These ones will help reduce your overall budget
Units Long Tail Keywords Avg CPC
1 Salad Spinner (1) £0.90
2 Salad Spinner (2) £0.85
3 Salad Spinner (3) £0.80
4 Salad Spinner (4) £0.75
5 Salad Spinner (5) £0.70
6 Salad Spinner (6) £0.60
7 Salad Spinner (7) £0.50
8 Salad Spinner (8) £0.40
Wrapping Up
The goal is to reduce conversion costs
Find long tail keywords that convert
Look to make up lost search volume
Setting Up An Auto
Campaign
Setting Up An Auto Campaign
Steps
Advertising Tab
Campaign manager
Create Campaign
Setting Up An Auto Campaign
Steps
Enter Campaign Name
Daily Budget
Select Automatic keyword
Campaign
Continue to next
Setting Up An Auto Campaign
Steps
Enter Ad group name
Default bid
Search and select your
product to advertise
Setting Up An Auto Campaign
Monitoring
Leave for at least 72 hours to collect data
Run and download a search term report
Add non relevant keywords as a “Negative Exact
Match”
Add relative words into back end keywords / title
(in some cases your bullets depending on your
strategy)
80/20 rule -
Less is more…
•Try changing the background color,
font colors and add in different
photos or icons.
Waiting is
boring….
Low bid 0.35
ACoS 4.8%
Zero Optimisation
No Negative Keywords
Maybe We Got Lucky?
Low bid 0.50
ACoS 10%
Optimisation – 32 Negative Keywords
Keyword Tools
Paid Tools
Tools
Keyword Trends tool -Keyword Inspector
http://www.keywordinspector.com/
My go to tool for keyword research. It has multiple filters you can control to hone
in on the perfect keyword collection.
Helium 10
https://members.helium10.com/
Part free, part paid. It is a Swiss army knife of tools under one roof. The
Frankenstein keyword processor and Scribbles Listing optimiser are my go to
tools each and every time.
Scientific Seller
http://app.scientificseller.com/keywordtool#/
This used to be free, and now offers capped searches before requesting you
taken to the subscription page. Works by extracting search data from the auto
complete field on Amazon and crawling other data.
Amztracker
https://www.amztracker.com/
Another Swiss army knife as you can track your rankings, keyword research,
optimise and use the review group ($50 and above package).
Tools
Google AdWords Planner - Keyword Tool
https://adwords.google.com/KeywordPlanner
You need to sign up to Adwords with a Gmail account. Bare in mind this is using
Google data (arranges the world’s information) rather than Amazon search data.
Keyword Shitter
http://keywordshitter.com/
Does what it says on the tin, it shits keywords! But like drinking from a fire hose
as no filter control and you do not get any search volume predictions.
Uber Suggest
https://ubersuggest.io/
Uses data not necessarily found in Google AdWords Keyword Planner tool. Good for
finding variations on search phrases. It is another fire hose unless you are a whiz
chopping data.
Spork Forge
http://sporkforge.com/text/word_count.php
This is not a keyword tool as such but a text analyser. This is useful for finding popular
search terms buried in listing copy of your competitors.
Free Tools
Free Tools
Tools
Other tools worth looking at...
Keyword Mispellings
http://keyword-misspellings.com/
Merge Words
http://mergewords.com/
Concatenation Tool
https://www.found.co.uk/ppc-keyword-tool/
*Please note these tools do not use Amazon data, rather they provide you with guidance
and their own calculations of search volume and other factors.
**The Amazon Seller does not have any financial affiliation with these tools.
***These tools do not fix shitty products.
Match types explained
Match Type Variation
Broad Match
• All words included in the search
• Search terms can be in any order
Keyword Search Term Match
Kids widget Kids blue widget Yes
Kid’s widget blue Yes
Blue Kid’s widgets Yes
widget No
Has the greatest reach and will maximise the variations of
your keywords
Match Type Variation
Phrase Match
• The exact phrase In the same sequence
• May include close variations
• Can include words before or after phrase
Keyword Search Term Match
Kids widget Kid widget’s yes
Kid’s widget Yes
Blue Kids widgets Yes
widget No
More restricting the broad but will have more relevance to
user search
Match Type Variation
Exact Match
• Exactly as the user typed into the field
• May include very close variations (plurals)
Keyword Search Term Match
Kids widget Kids widget blue No
Kid’s widget Yes
Kids widgets Yes
widget No
Less impressions but a great way to manage waste on your
account
Setting Up A Manual
Campaign
Setting Up a Manual Campaign
Steps
Advertising Tab
Campaign manager
Create Campaign
Setting Up A Manual Campaign
Steps
Enter Campaign Name
Daily Budget
Select Manual keyword
Campaign
Continue to next
Setting Up A Manual Campaign
Steps
Enter Ad group name
Search and select your
product to advertise
Hit Select
Setting Up A Manual Campaign
Steps
Enter Default Bid
Paste in your keywords
Hit Add these keywords
Save and Finish
Leave for at least 72 hours to collect data
Run and download the Search Term Report or
edit through the Interface at keyword level
Add non relevant keywords as a “Negative Exact
Match”
Add relevant keywords into backend keywords
Rinse and repeat
*** Daily budget doesn’t always equal max daily spend-if you campaign is
running then Amazon will aggregate where possible
Monitoring
Strategies
New Product Strategy 1 – After at least 1 review
-Run Auto to determine keywords
-Add keywords as Exact, Phrase & Broad in
Manual Campaign
-Continue Learning & Tuning
-Set Bid to achieve Position 2 or 3
-Monitor and adjust
New Product Strategy 2 – After at least 1 review
-You know your product
-Create a manual Auto campaign
-Add keywords as Exact, Phrase & Broad in
Manual Campaign
-Set Bid to achieve Position 2 or 3
-Monitor and adjust
• First product above – 25 days live – PPC live 21 days started with one
review
• $3,350 Ad spend converted to $23,000 of sales
• Ad spend helped promote Organic position
• Organic sales $10,000 over same timeframe, total sales $33,000
• Overall Ad costs running at 10% of revenue
• Product priced to absorb these costs in planning
The Holy Grail Part 2
• Third product above – <5 months live – PPC live started with one review
• $20,000 Ad spend converted to $104,000 of sales
• Ad spend helped promote Organic position
• Organic sales $68k over same timeframe, total revenue $172,000
• Overall Ad costs running at 11% of revenue
• Product priced to absorb these costs in planning
Myth Busters
“You need 10
reviews to turn
on PPC”
“You need to
occupy the
no1 position”
“you need
1000’s of long
tail keywords”
Optimisation (Tips Part 1)
• Test One Thing At A Time
• Allow at least 7 days - Unless It Is
Tanking
• Price optimise -Up and Down
• PPC Titles - 34 Characters To Look
Your Best
Optimisation (Tips Part 2)
• Image Testing and Rotation
• Test bidding positions
• Relevance - Searching All Keywords
Manually
• Manage Your Own Phycology
Future Predictions
• Day Parting
• Geo Targeting
• Quality Scores
• Bidding Engine
Thank you
anthony@theamazonseller.com
danny@theamazonseller.com
richard@theamazonseller.com
theamazonseller.com
facebook.com/groups/Amsters
meetup.com/theamazonSeller_UK
meetup.com/theamazonseller_SoCal
YouTube/C/theamazonseller
Glossary Of Terms
Other useful notes and terms…
Wanky words you must remember
PPC – Stands for Pay-Per-Click
whereby the advertiser only pays when
the end user clicks on your ad.
Campaign - Is the upper structure to
managing your ad groups, keywords
and bid settings.
Keyword – A word or phrase used in a
Campaign’s ad group to bid and appear
on the search pages on Amazon.
Match Type – Amazon uses three
including; Broad, Phrase and Exact
(discussed later).
Wanky words you must remember
Ad Group – This is used to manage
your keywords and bid data.
Ad Position – The order in which your
ad appears on Amazon.
Bid – The amount you determine in
your chosen currency in the attempt to
present your ad to the ad auction.
Cost-Per-Click (CPC) – The amount
the advertiser pays on any given
keyword phrase.
Wanky words you must remember
Long-tail Keyword – These are longer
keyword phrases (3-6 words) and
normally cheap as chips. When
working well, you can reduce your
conversion costs and improve ACoS. In
some cases, they provide incremental
conversions over time.
Head Keywords - These are the most
competitive keywords often 1-2
(sometimes 3) words as a phrase that
generate a lot of search volume. These
tend to be (much) more expensive than
Long-tail Keywords.
Wanky words you must remember
Negative Match – Will omit the ad
from being displayed if the search term
contains a certain keyword based on
its determined match type.
Average Cost-Per-Click (Avg CPC) –
Average CPC is calculated by dividing
the total cost of your clicks by the total
number of clicks.
Conv. - Conv. is short for
'Conversions'. Conversions are divided
by clicks, which represent the rate at
which a click on your ad resulted in a
conversion (sale).
An auto campaign is an “Automatic”
campaign whereby Amazon will use the
contents of your listing to present you
keyword phrases it feels is the most
relevant to your campaign- (when it
works )
The difference between an Auto and Manual campaign
A manual campaign allows you to
determine the keywords and bid at
keyword level. Thus, giving you much
more control over you spend and bid
strategy.
The difference between an Auto and Manual campaign
Bid + (In Amazon’s own words)
“Bid+ is a setting in Campaign Manager that
helps increase the opportunity for your ads to
show in the top of customer search results. ”
“When Bid+ is turned on, Amazon will
increase the maximum bid for your ads that
are eligible to appear in this placement.”
“You can turn on Bid+ for any manually
targeted campaign. If your ad is not
eligible to show we will not increase your
bids..”

More Related Content

PPTX
Amazon Sponsored Ads (PPC) Presentation - Advanced Tips; Tricks & Optimisatio...
PDF
Amazon ppc management
PDF
Summary Of Amazon PPC and PPC Sample Audit and Reporting
PPTX
Amazon Marketing Services
PDF
Amazon Sponsored Products: An Introduction to Advertising for Sellers
PPTX
Amazon product launch
PPTX
Amazon Wholesale the Easy Way and Automating Any Business
PDF
Beginners Guide to Amazon Ads
Amazon Sponsored Ads (PPC) Presentation - Advanced Tips; Tricks & Optimisatio...
Amazon ppc management
Summary Of Amazon PPC and PPC Sample Audit and Reporting
Amazon Marketing Services
Amazon Sponsored Products: An Introduction to Advertising for Sellers
Amazon product launch
Amazon Wholesale the Easy Way and Automating Any Business
Beginners Guide to Amazon Ads

What's hot (20)

PPTX
Getting Started on Amazon
PDF
AMAZON PPC: HOW HIGH-VOLUME SELLERS ARE MANAGING THEIR CAMPAIGNS
PPTX
Amazon product sponsored ads: Case study by BM Consulting
PDF
Wholesale
PPTX
Introduction to google adwords
PPTX
AMAZON KEYWORD RESEARCH - PPC SPECIALSIT
PDF
Amazon SEO basics
PPTX
PPC Campaign Planning
PPTX
Facebook Ads Tutorial 2019 | How To Run Facebook Ads | Facebook Ads Manager 2...
PPTX
My journey in amazon seller VA master class
PDF
Paid Search Marketing - PPC 101
PDF
How to launch a NEW product successfully on Amazon | BrightonSEO | Prabhat Shah
PDF
Advanced Amazon Advertising Strategies for 2019
PPT
Growing Private Label with Amazon
PPT
Adword remarketing
PDF
Amazon Product Research.pdf
PPTX
Selling on Amazon
PDF
Digital Marketing Plan Template
PPTX
Google Ads Tutorial for Beginners
PDF
Product Research Presentation
Getting Started on Amazon
AMAZON PPC: HOW HIGH-VOLUME SELLERS ARE MANAGING THEIR CAMPAIGNS
Amazon product sponsored ads: Case study by BM Consulting
Wholesale
Introduction to google adwords
AMAZON KEYWORD RESEARCH - PPC SPECIALSIT
Amazon SEO basics
PPC Campaign Planning
Facebook Ads Tutorial 2019 | How To Run Facebook Ads | Facebook Ads Manager 2...
My journey in amazon seller VA master class
Paid Search Marketing - PPC 101
How to launch a NEW product successfully on Amazon | BrightonSEO | Prabhat Shah
Advanced Amazon Advertising Strategies for 2019
Growing Private Label with Amazon
Adword remarketing
Amazon Product Research.pdf
Selling on Amazon
Digital Marketing Plan Template
Google Ads Tutorial for Beginners
Product Research Presentation
Ad

Viewers also liked (8)

PPTX
Follow the Customers: Selling on Amazon & eBay & webstores
PDF
MySQL 5.7: Focus on Replication
PDF
Seller How to Increase Profitability by Selling Globally on Amazon - Seller L...
PDF
Improve your Amazon Seller Experience
PDF
Going to China? Get Your Questions Answered Webinar for Amazon Sellers
PPTX
Increasing Visibility on the Amazon Marketplace
Follow the Customers: Selling on Amazon & eBay & webstores
MySQL 5.7: Focus on Replication
Seller How to Increase Profitability by Selling Globally on Amazon - Seller L...
Improve your Amazon Seller Experience
Going to China? Get Your Questions Answered Webinar for Amazon Sellers
Increasing Visibility on the Amazon Marketplace
Ad

Similar to The Amazon Seller PPC Presentation (Sept 2016) (20)

PPT
PPC 360 Presentation - Smart China Sourcing Summit - Hong Kong 2016
PDF
Ecommerce School: Roger Lopez on PPC on a Shoestring Budget
PDF
Amazon SEO & Sponsored Product Campaigns
PPTX
Amazon Growth Workshop - Linnacademy 2016
PPTX
Amafest 3
PPTX
Amazon Search Optimization. The Usurper of Search by Daniel Saunders
PDF
Amazon PPC sample audit
PPTX
Introduction to Paid Search
PPTX
KEY
Keyword Selection
PPTX
Simple smo
PDF
Adchemy 10ways product-catalog
PDF
Online Marketing workshop : Feb 2013
PPTX
Google ad words
PDF
Cpc Strategy & Amazon on the New Sponsored Products Updates
PDF
The Easy Way to Run Profitable Sponsored Products Campaigns
PDF
AdWords Key to Success from Pico Digital
PPTX
A Brief of Google AdWords Pay Per Click
PPTX
Digital smb ppc shoestring
PDF
Jungle Scout's Million Dollar Case Study Session #13: Amazon Pay Per Click
PPC 360 Presentation - Smart China Sourcing Summit - Hong Kong 2016
Ecommerce School: Roger Lopez on PPC on a Shoestring Budget
Amazon SEO & Sponsored Product Campaigns
Amazon Growth Workshop - Linnacademy 2016
Amafest 3
Amazon Search Optimization. The Usurper of Search by Daniel Saunders
Amazon PPC sample audit
Introduction to Paid Search
Keyword Selection
Simple smo
Adchemy 10ways product-catalog
Online Marketing workshop : Feb 2013
Google ad words
Cpc Strategy & Amazon on the New Sponsored Products Updates
The Easy Way to Run Profitable Sponsored Products Campaigns
AdWords Key to Success from Pico Digital
A Brief of Google AdWords Pay Per Click
Digital smb ppc shoestring
Jungle Scout's Million Dollar Case Study Session #13: Amazon Pay Per Click

Recently uploaded (20)

PDF
Fly Emirates SEO case study by Rakesh pathak.pdf
PPTX
Presentation - MindfulHeal Digital Ayurveda GTM & Marketing Plan.pptx
PDF
Coleção Nature .
PPTX
Fixing-AI-Hallucinations-The-NeuroRanktm-Approach.pptx
PPTX
Sumit Saxena IIM J Project Market segmentation.pptx
PDF
Proven AI Visibility: From SEO Strategy To GEO Tactics
PDF
RC 14001 Certification: Enhancing ISO 14001 with EHS & Security Standards
PDF
Unit 1 -2 THE 4 As of RURAL MARKETING MIX.pdf
PPTX
PRINCIPLES OF MANAGEMENT and functions (1).pptx
PPTX
Strategic Sage Digital-The Professional Digital Marketing Company in Mohali.pptx
PDF
Pay-Per-Click Marketing: Strategies That Actually Work in 2025
PDF
UNIT 2 - 2 AGRICULTURE MARKETING in INDIA.pdf
PPTX
Best Digital marketing service provider in Chandigarh.pptx
PPTX
Assignment 2 Task 1 - How Consumers Use Technology and Its Impact on Their Lives
PPTX
Ipsos+Protocols+Playbook+V1.2+(DEC2024)+final+IntClientUseOnly.pptx
PDF
Digital Marketing in the Age of AI: What CEOs Need to Know - Jennifer Apy, Ch...
PDF
Master Fullstack Development Course in Chennai – Enroll Now!
PDF
20K Btc Enabled Cash App Accounts – Safe, Fast, Verified.pdf
PDF
Mastering Content Strategy in 2025 ss.pdf
PPTX
"Best Healthcare Digital Marketing Ideas
Fly Emirates SEO case study by Rakesh pathak.pdf
Presentation - MindfulHeal Digital Ayurveda GTM & Marketing Plan.pptx
Coleção Nature .
Fixing-AI-Hallucinations-The-NeuroRanktm-Approach.pptx
Sumit Saxena IIM J Project Market segmentation.pptx
Proven AI Visibility: From SEO Strategy To GEO Tactics
RC 14001 Certification: Enhancing ISO 14001 with EHS & Security Standards
Unit 1 -2 THE 4 As of RURAL MARKETING MIX.pdf
PRINCIPLES OF MANAGEMENT and functions (1).pptx
Strategic Sage Digital-The Professional Digital Marketing Company in Mohali.pptx
Pay-Per-Click Marketing: Strategies That Actually Work in 2025
UNIT 2 - 2 AGRICULTURE MARKETING in INDIA.pdf
Best Digital marketing service provider in Chandigarh.pptx
Assignment 2 Task 1 - How Consumers Use Technology and Its Impact on Their Lives
Ipsos+Protocols+Playbook+V1.2+(DEC2024)+final+IntClientUseOnly.pptx
Digital Marketing in the Age of AI: What CEOs Need to Know - Jennifer Apy, Ch...
Master Fullstack Development Course in Chennai – Enroll Now!
20K Btc Enabled Cash App Accounts – Safe, Fast, Verified.pdf
Mastering Content Strategy in 2025 ss.pdf
"Best Healthcare Digital Marketing Ideas

The Amazon Seller PPC Presentation (Sept 2016)

  • 2. All-in-1 Amazon Marketing Toolkit from 1 single login! (Research, Optimize, Automate, Leverage) Sales Spy | Email Automator | Ebay Connect |Review Monitor |Best Seller & Keyword Tracking | Listing Optimizer
  • 3. $65/mo!Approx. $169/mo *All prices are compared from the Business package (Middle Level) of all products reviewed
  • 4. Comparison Chart available at Zonguru.com Exclusive offer for Amazon Seller Webinar viewers 14 day Free Trial! Email [email protected], say you are from this webinar and he’ll send you a 14 day free trial coupon
  • 5. Premium Service Products Photography For E-Commerce Sites Including Amazon FBA, Ebay And Etsy Email Dee at [email protected] Small Package Medium Package Large Package 1 Product 2 Products 3 Products 8 images 16 images 24 images 5 Core Shots + 3 Detail Shots 5 Core Shots + 3 Detail Shots 5 Core Shots + 3 Detail Shots Total package price £125.00 (excludes premium add on’s) Total package price £225.00 (excludes premium add on’s) Total package price £325.00 (excludes premium add on’s) High resolution images (300dpi)- web-ready High resolution images (300dpi) and web-ready High resolution images (300dpi) and web-ready Royalty free unlimited usage Royalty free unlimited usage Royalty free unlimited usage ***Bespoke packages avaiable on request
  • 6. Meetups - Webinars Country Date Topic HK Summit 17 Oct Danny’s Presentation HK Meal Meetup 17 Oct Seller Meeting HK Summit 19 Oct Anthony’s Presentation Invite Only HK 19 Oct Power Sellers Event USA Meetup 27 Oct PPC (Pay Per Click) UK Meetup 8 Nov Seller Product Tools & Amazon Reporting UK Meetup 22 Nov Scaling Your Business in 2017 Online Date Topic Online Webinar 3 Oct Amazon Ranking Factors Online Webinar 6 Jan Power Sellers Panel
  • 7. TheAmazonSeller.com The Amazon Seller (UK) 1400 Members The Amazon Seller (Los Angeles) 400 Members The Amazon Seller (San Diego) 300+ Members >2,800 members >400 subscribers
  • 10. The Holy Grail Part 2
  • 11. The Holy Grail Part 3
  • 13. “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results”.
  • 14. “Lucky for us we don’t need to be as smart as Albert”
  • 16. What is PPC? PPC, or Pay Per Click is a searcher's intent platform made famous by Google. Amazon has their own version with Sponsored Ads, albeit on a much smaller scale
  • 17. Ad Auction Amazon ads are sold in an auction. You bid what you want to pay for a click. Amazon uses a number of factors to determine the ad position, including; bid and keyword relevance of listing and browse node.
  • 18. How does the ad auction work You determine the bid amount on your ad group or search phrase, other sellers will use the same process. Amazon will then run a calculation using multiple factors (including bid price) to determine your ad position on the search pages along side organic listings.
  • 19. Auction - Basics Bid Amount Bid one £0.50 Bid two £0.30 Bid three £0.69 Bid four £0.23 Your bid £0.57 *Bids Amazon Receive (excludes other ranking factors) Ad Pos. Bid Amount Cost Ad Position One Bid three £0.69 Pays £0.58 Ad Position Two Your bid £0.57 Pays £0.51 Ad Position Three Bid one £0.50 Pays £0.31 Ad Position Four Bid two £0.30 Pays £0.24 Ad Position Five Bid four £0.23 Pays unknown Auction results:
  • 20. Advertising Cost of Sales (ACoS) “This is calculated by dividing total ad spend by attributed sales. For example, if you spent £4 on advertising resulting in attributed sales of £20, your ACoS would be 20%”
  • 21. The Magic Bullet (not) PPC will not save the product Build in plenty of optimisation budget Learn the art of patience and persistence
  • 22. Shiny Objects Choosing the right product, trumps PPC dexterity… This is often overlooked
  • 24. How you think is important… Everyone want’s more sales… You double the ad spend, right? …WHY NOT FIX CONVERSION ISSUES?
  • 25. How do I reduce my ACoS?
  • 26. Start With The Product Selling at £10 means your ACoS is 20% Selling at £30 makes it look far sexier Customer Acquisition Cost (ppc) You Sell At The Unit Price Of… ACoS £2.00 £10 20% £2.00 £20 10% £2.00 £30 6.7% £2.00 £40 5% £2.00 £50 4% Where possible bake your PPC into you product Selection on the front end
  • 28. Head Keywords These keywords will start to mount up fast Units Head Keywords Avg CPC 1 Salad spinner (1) £3.99 2 Salad Spinner (2) £2.66 3 Salad Spinner (3) £2.44 4 Salad Spinner (4) £2.10 5 Salad Spinner (5) £1.99
  • 29. Long Tail Keywords These ones will help reduce your overall budget Units Long Tail Keywords Avg CPC 1 Salad Spinner (1) £0.90 2 Salad Spinner (2) £0.85 3 Salad Spinner (3) £0.80 4 Salad Spinner (4) £0.75 5 Salad Spinner (5) £0.70 6 Salad Spinner (6) £0.60 7 Salad Spinner (7) £0.50 8 Salad Spinner (8) £0.40
  • 30. Wrapping Up The goal is to reduce conversion costs Find long tail keywords that convert Look to make up lost search volume
  • 31. Setting Up An Auto Campaign
  • 32. Setting Up An Auto Campaign Steps Advertising Tab Campaign manager Create Campaign
  • 33. Setting Up An Auto Campaign Steps Enter Campaign Name Daily Budget Select Automatic keyword Campaign Continue to next
  • 34. Setting Up An Auto Campaign Steps Enter Ad group name Default bid Search and select your product to advertise
  • 35. Setting Up An Auto Campaign
  • 36. Monitoring Leave for at least 72 hours to collect data Run and download a search term report Add non relevant keywords as a “Negative Exact Match” Add relative words into back end keywords / title (in some cases your bullets depending on your strategy)
  • 37. 80/20 rule - Less is more…
  • 38. •Try changing the background color, font colors and add in different photos or icons. Waiting is boring….
  • 39. Low bid 0.35 ACoS 4.8% Zero Optimisation
  • 40. No Negative Keywords Maybe We Got Lucky?
  • 41. Low bid 0.50 ACoS 10% Optimisation – 32 Negative Keywords
  • 43. Paid Tools Tools Keyword Trends tool -Keyword Inspector http://www.keywordinspector.com/ My go to tool for keyword research. It has multiple filters you can control to hone in on the perfect keyword collection. Helium 10 https://members.helium10.com/ Part free, part paid. It is a Swiss army knife of tools under one roof. The Frankenstein keyword processor and Scribbles Listing optimiser are my go to tools each and every time. Scientific Seller http://app.scientificseller.com/keywordtool#/ This used to be free, and now offers capped searches before requesting you taken to the subscription page. Works by extracting search data from the auto complete field on Amazon and crawling other data. Amztracker https://www.amztracker.com/ Another Swiss army knife as you can track your rankings, keyword research, optimise and use the review group ($50 and above package).
  • 44. Tools Google AdWords Planner - Keyword Tool https://adwords.google.com/KeywordPlanner You need to sign up to Adwords with a Gmail account. Bare in mind this is using Google data (arranges the world’s information) rather than Amazon search data. Keyword Shitter http://keywordshitter.com/ Does what it says on the tin, it shits keywords! But like drinking from a fire hose as no filter control and you do not get any search volume predictions. Uber Suggest https://ubersuggest.io/ Uses data not necessarily found in Google AdWords Keyword Planner tool. Good for finding variations on search phrases. It is another fire hose unless you are a whiz chopping data. Spork Forge http://sporkforge.com/text/word_count.php This is not a keyword tool as such but a text analyser. This is useful for finding popular search terms buried in listing copy of your competitors. Free Tools
  • 45. Free Tools Tools Other tools worth looking at... Keyword Mispellings http://keyword-misspellings.com/ Merge Words http://mergewords.com/ Concatenation Tool https://www.found.co.uk/ppc-keyword-tool/ *Please note these tools do not use Amazon data, rather they provide you with guidance and their own calculations of search volume and other factors. **The Amazon Seller does not have any financial affiliation with these tools. ***These tools do not fix shitty products.
  • 47. Match Type Variation Broad Match • All words included in the search • Search terms can be in any order Keyword Search Term Match Kids widget Kids blue widget Yes Kid’s widget blue Yes Blue Kid’s widgets Yes widget No Has the greatest reach and will maximise the variations of your keywords
  • 48. Match Type Variation Phrase Match • The exact phrase In the same sequence • May include close variations • Can include words before or after phrase Keyword Search Term Match Kids widget Kid widget’s yes Kid’s widget Yes Blue Kids widgets Yes widget No More restricting the broad but will have more relevance to user search
  • 49. Match Type Variation Exact Match • Exactly as the user typed into the field • May include very close variations (plurals) Keyword Search Term Match Kids widget Kids widget blue No Kid’s widget Yes Kids widgets Yes widget No Less impressions but a great way to manage waste on your account
  • 50. Setting Up A Manual Campaign
  • 51. Setting Up a Manual Campaign Steps Advertising Tab Campaign manager Create Campaign
  • 52. Setting Up A Manual Campaign Steps Enter Campaign Name Daily Budget Select Manual keyword Campaign Continue to next
  • 53. Setting Up A Manual Campaign Steps Enter Ad group name Search and select your product to advertise Hit Select
  • 54. Setting Up A Manual Campaign Steps Enter Default Bid Paste in your keywords Hit Add these keywords Save and Finish
  • 55. Leave for at least 72 hours to collect data Run and download the Search Term Report or edit through the Interface at keyword level Add non relevant keywords as a “Negative Exact Match” Add relevant keywords into backend keywords Rinse and repeat *** Daily budget doesn’t always equal max daily spend-if you campaign is running then Amazon will aggregate where possible Monitoring
  • 57. New Product Strategy 1 – After at least 1 review -Run Auto to determine keywords -Add keywords as Exact, Phrase & Broad in Manual Campaign -Continue Learning & Tuning -Set Bid to achieve Position 2 or 3 -Monitor and adjust
  • 58. New Product Strategy 2 – After at least 1 review -You know your product -Create a manual Auto campaign -Add keywords as Exact, Phrase & Broad in Manual Campaign -Set Bid to achieve Position 2 or 3 -Monitor and adjust
  • 59. • First product above – 25 days live – PPC live 21 days started with one review • $3,350 Ad spend converted to $23,000 of sales • Ad spend helped promote Organic position • Organic sales $10,000 over same timeframe, total sales $33,000 • Overall Ad costs running at 10% of revenue • Product priced to absorb these costs in planning The Holy Grail Part 2
  • 60. • Third product above – <5 months live – PPC live started with one review • $20,000 Ad spend converted to $104,000 of sales • Ad spend helped promote Organic position • Organic sales $68k over same timeframe, total revenue $172,000 • Overall Ad costs running at 11% of revenue • Product priced to absorb these costs in planning
  • 62. “You need 10 reviews to turn on PPC”
  • 63. “You need to occupy the no1 position”
  • 64. “you need 1000’s of long tail keywords”
  • 65. Optimisation (Tips Part 1) • Test One Thing At A Time • Allow at least 7 days - Unless It Is Tanking • Price optimise -Up and Down • PPC Titles - 34 Characters To Look Your Best
  • 66. Optimisation (Tips Part 2) • Image Testing and Rotation • Test bidding positions • Relevance - Searching All Keywords Manually • Manage Your Own Phycology
  • 67. Future Predictions • Day Parting • Geo Targeting • Quality Scores • Bidding Engine
  • 69. Glossary Of Terms Other useful notes and terms…
  • 70. Wanky words you must remember PPC – Stands for Pay-Per-Click whereby the advertiser only pays when the end user clicks on your ad. Campaign - Is the upper structure to managing your ad groups, keywords and bid settings. Keyword – A word or phrase used in a Campaign’s ad group to bid and appear on the search pages on Amazon. Match Type – Amazon uses three including; Broad, Phrase and Exact (discussed later).
  • 71. Wanky words you must remember Ad Group – This is used to manage your keywords and bid data. Ad Position – The order in which your ad appears on Amazon. Bid – The amount you determine in your chosen currency in the attempt to present your ad to the ad auction. Cost-Per-Click (CPC) – The amount the advertiser pays on any given keyword phrase.
  • 72. Wanky words you must remember Long-tail Keyword – These are longer keyword phrases (3-6 words) and normally cheap as chips. When working well, you can reduce your conversion costs and improve ACoS. In some cases, they provide incremental conversions over time. Head Keywords - These are the most competitive keywords often 1-2 (sometimes 3) words as a phrase that generate a lot of search volume. These tend to be (much) more expensive than Long-tail Keywords.
  • 73. Wanky words you must remember Negative Match – Will omit the ad from being displayed if the search term contains a certain keyword based on its determined match type. Average Cost-Per-Click (Avg CPC) – Average CPC is calculated by dividing the total cost of your clicks by the total number of clicks. Conv. - Conv. is short for 'Conversions'. Conversions are divided by clicks, which represent the rate at which a click on your ad resulted in a conversion (sale).
  • 74. An auto campaign is an “Automatic” campaign whereby Amazon will use the contents of your listing to present you keyword phrases it feels is the most relevant to your campaign- (when it works ) The difference between an Auto and Manual campaign
  • 75. A manual campaign allows you to determine the keywords and bid at keyword level. Thus, giving you much more control over you spend and bid strategy. The difference between an Auto and Manual campaign
  • 76. Bid + (In Amazon’s own words) “Bid+ is a setting in Campaign Manager that helps increase the opportunity for your ads to show in the top of customer search results. ” “When Bid+ is turned on, Amazon will increase the maximum bid for your ads that are eligible to appear in this placement.” “You can turn on Bid+ for any manually targeted campaign. If your ad is not eligible to show we will not increase your bids..”

Editor's Notes

  • #7: Update – all there on meetup sites
  • #20: Update – all there on meetup sites